AVS Forum banner
Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
3,257 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Okay...this is a total shot in the dark, and I don't even know if it's the right forum, but I'm looking for a way to store 1000+ CDs on a hard drive and access them via our living room home theater. Whether this involves a dedicated HTPC or just a hard drive and a cable and some software, I don't know. Do I need a high-quality soundcard, or would this bypass that? Also, some type of interface is a must as far as accessing the library...the more I type, the more I think dedicated HTPC. As an added bonus, I'd love the ability to play SACD and DVD-A, but again, I have no idea if that's even a possibility. I'm an audio (and almost video) junkie, but I am a total rookie in the HTPC realm. Can a fellow AVS'er help a brutha out? :D

Thanks!

Jason (the HTPC noob!)

·
Registered
3,257 Posts
Discussion Starter · #2 ·
Made even stupider by posting it in the wrong thread...what a loser...wait, I'm talking to myself about myself...:eek:

Jason

·
Registered
292 Posts
If you have several computers in your home on a home network, you should be able to rip your cd's to any computer with enough hard drive space and then play them back on any computer in your home. That's what I do.

The simplest solution is to buy enough hard drive space for the computer in your living room theater. A lot of people prefer to have a server computer with tons of room located in another room but connected over the network. If you take that option, you don't have to worry about keeping the server quiet.

good luck

·
Registered
3,991 Posts
You could put a Turtle Beach Audiotron in your stereo rack. It picks up all mp3's and Wma's on any harddrive on any PC in your network. You could put all 1000 CDs on one drive, or scatter them about. You control the TB with a remote or with a web browser or PDA if you prefer. It will also stream internet radio.