AVS Forum banner
1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·

Hi.

First time poster newbie here seeking help.  I recently purchased a Klipsch SW-110 sub to complete my 2.1 setup and have been introduced to the infamous and annoying subwoofer hum ever since connecting the first set of bare speaker wire on the right channel from my stereo amp to the sub.

My setup:

/--> bookshelf speakers

Laptop --> external USB DAC --> AudioSource AMP-100 

\--> subwoofer

I'm using both of the amp's Speaker A + B terminals at the same time, to respectively connect the speakers + sub via bare speaker wire.  Only the sub produces the constant hum.  While it's not loud, it's certainly audible, especially since it's under my computer desk and I'm typically adjacent to it for hours.  

Initially I thought it was ground loop, but both the sub and amp power cables are 2-pronged and connected to the same power strip.  My cable service was cut off last year and there's no coaxial cable nearby anyway, so no TV issues to worry about.  

Interestingly, if I connect the amp to the sub via RCA cables (either the red or white end or both -- any combo really) the hum ceases.  That's even with the speaker wires remain connected to the sub and RCA cable(s) at the same time (which I know is not advisable, but it was for testing purposes).  I read that speaker wire aren't shielded like RCA cable, so it's more susceptible to EMI / RF, but I was hoping for a solution that doesn't involve buying expensive equipment (this also makes me wonder how people handled this in the days before AVRs).  Then why not stick with RCA and ditch speaker wire?  Because that results in two problems:

1) The sub's volume can't be controlled by the amp because of its low level (fixed) signals.  I want to be able to adjust speaker and sub volume simultaneously.