AVS Forum banner
Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
101 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
My new HT room is *very small*, only about 12' square. By the time I get my furniture and HT equipment in there, it's pretty cramped.

I have a pair of 10" powered subs (Radio Shack specials...yet another reason to *change*... :) that sit out like two bumps on a log.

My idea is to incorporate a pair of powered subs into the fairly shallow bookcases (9" shelves I used to hold media) that I have flanking my corner screen. Here's my idea:

I've been dabbling in speaker design for a few years - have never embarked on a serious project (but hope to get stated on a Vifa-based HT system next year), but I have a pair of JL Audio 8" subs that were left over from a car audio project I never finished.

I was thinking about taking the lower portion of each bookcase and enclosing a 1cuft volume to match the sealed box parameters of these subs - and powering each of them with their own Parapix-like 100w amp from Apex Jr.

Question: any one else ever intermixed car and home audio components with anything other than good results? Will these JL Audio subs be up to the task or am I missing something?

·
Registered
88 Posts
I think you're going to have several problems with this idea. First of all a sub built into caswork will probably rattle anything right off the shelves. Secondly, most car audio drivers are not well suited to HT.

Any way to do an IB? That would be the ultimate space saving option.

How about a coffee table sub? Several people have built them when space is the priority.

You can see my idea for a space saver, even tho it's 16 cu.ft., it'll be hidden by the ent. ctr. I'm going to build.

http://members.home.net/bcwwkg/image...ll%20Thing.JPG

Pete

·
Registered
101 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
PMazz: First of all a sub built into caswork will probably rattle anything right off the shelves.