Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
100 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey ppls im a newbie in the HT setup, need some help with my 10" sub

I've got a Pioneer VSX-D490-tx receiver, when i connect the sub to my receiver, using the remote (from the receiver) i could see that during the testing of all the channels, the sub works fine.. i can definately "hear" it humming but when i play anything dvd/cd, the sub dosent seem to respond at all??!! I tried using diff cables connecing the sub but still very very low response... seems my fronts are pumping out the bass only, I ve set the other channels all to small and the subwoofer is definately detected in the test, its just not there when im playing anything else, im thinking maybe there is something wrong with the receiver?? Its a 10" active sub... power is on but the responce is very minimal, even when the volume is turned to max, Im using optical out for dts/dolby digtal sound connecting to my dvd player, would i need rca connections for the sub to work?? Its driving me nuts I spent hours trying to figure out whats wrong, i think it might be that the receiver sub connection is faulty? Or it might be something so simple that i didnt do properly heheh.

I know the sub works because i lent it to a friend and you can hear it perfectly responding ok...

please help anyone? :)

·
Registered
3,624 Posts
I have owned a Pioneer Elite a few years ago. Try setting the subwoofer to "plus" if such an option is available. It is the third option in the list

"no", "yes", "plus"... at least that's how it was with my VSX-24TX. If that does not work, next check the crossover setting and use your receiver test tones and a Radio Shack SPL meter to caliberate the sub's SPL to match the main speakers.... a good point is 85dB. I hope this helps.

-Jai

·
Registered
100 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·