AVS Forum banner
1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
16 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am pretty new to the new technology, I was always a regular CRT man. But we are seriously thinking about upgrading. I would like to spend as little as possible, but with that said, I want quality (which may or may not come with a brand name).

Here are my specs, lol:

Currently own a 32" Tube TV

We watch a lot of movies, digital cable and we play a lot of the Nintendo Wii.

Tv placement is in the corner and the room is like 12' wide by 18' long but we have it set so the furniture makes the viewing area more like 12' wide by 10' long. What would you guys suggest for size and brand?

PLease help, lol. Thanks in advance guys!

·
Registered
7 Posts
Honestly, I would suggest you go to an electronics store (Best Buy, Circuit City, etc.) and take a look at all the offerings. Do A LOT of research on all the TVs tht you like and make a choice based on thta. I have found tht one persons "awesome TV" is another's subpar offering. You have to get what works for you and the space where you will be watching the set. Be sure to take into consideration the lighting that is most often in the room during viewing, the distance you are from the TV, the components you will ahve hooked up and the asthetic value of the set. You can even come back here once you have your choices narrowed down to get some opinions on the ones you have selected.

Happy hunting!

·
Registered
16 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
Ok,

Let me ask this first, is 37" much better than 32"? And what about brands such as walmart specials like Emerson, Sylvania, visco, vizio etc....

I seen a 37" emerson for like 800 at walmart and sylvania 32" that I thought looked like good pictures (still a newbie, lol). Are these types of sets worth the time with the 2 year warranty purchased?