AVS Forum banner
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
16 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am pretty new to the new technology, I was always a regular CRT man. But we are seriously thinking about upgrading. I would like to spend as little as possible, but with that said, I want quality (which may or may not come with a brand name).

Here are my specs, lol:

Currently own a 32" Tube TV

We watch a lot of movies, digital cable and we play a lot of the Nintendo Wii.

Tv placement is in the corner and the room is like 12' wide by 18' long but we have it set so the furniture makes the viewing area more like 12' wide by 10' long. What would you guys suggest for size and brand?

PLease help, lol. Thanks in advance guys!

·
Registered
968 Posts

Quote:
Originally Posted by bigchromedog2594 /forum/post/0

I am pretty new to the new technology, I was always a regular CRT man. But we are seriously thinking about upgrading. I would like to spend as little as possible, but with that said, I want quality (which may or may not come with a brand name).

Here are my specs, lol:

Currently own a 32" Tube TV

We watch a lot of movies, digital cable and we play a lot of the Nintendo Wii.

Tv placement is in the corner and the room is like 12' wide by 18' long but we have it set so the furniture makes the viewing area more like 12' wide by 10' long. What would you guys suggest for size and brand?

PLease help, lol. Thanks in advance guys!

(1) Will the display remain angled across a corner?

(2) Would a flat panel be placed on a table stand rather than a wall?

(3) What would you expect your viewing distance to be? (figure where stand/table would sit and measure eyes-to-panel-surface. Do this with tape measure don't estimate by eye)

(4) What is the lighting like in the room? Can you reasonably control the light?

(5) How important is getting as wide a viewing angle as possible ("big screen" or "immersive" look) for movies?