Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
:confused:

I'm a newbie who is awaiting delivery of a Panny PT50LC13, and needs a nice audio setup to complement it. I initially looked at HTIB systems, Onkyo HT650, HT660, Kenwood HTB505, etc. - but the other day at BB I was introduced to the JBL speaker systems (SCS135si, SCS160si) and really like the sound output. Mind you, I'm not much of an audiophile, but they sounded crisp and clear to me. Of course, those JBL systems do NOT come with a receiver, so I'd have to purchase that seperately, but I've heard of the importance of getting a good set of speakers. A couple of questions arise:

1) Most seem to like the Onkyo HTIB systems - but their speakers are awfully large. I need to be able to mount my satellite speakers on the wall, is there a height and weight guideline that a speaker must stay under to be able to mount them? JBL's speakers are nice and compact - but the subwoofer seems large enough to serve dinner on! :D

2) Is it better to buy a good speaker system and just go search for a great receiver to match? Can anyone recommend a receiver with plenty of inputs/outputs and that supports all the major formats? I'm thinking about the Samsung HD931 for the DVD player (DVI out). I want to stay within a $550-600 price range for the speakers and receiver, if it all possible?

Just confused...thanks for the input.

:confused:

·
Registered
256 Posts
Hi,

Welcome to the forums. First off, your price range is VERY limited for speakers, sub, and receiver. The better subs alone cost at least that.