AVS Forum banner

Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
393 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I would like some suggestions on what editing software(that you know first hand works) to get for my computer to edit minidv camcorder recordings with an ultimate goal of burning onto a dvd.

Thanks for your help.

·
Registered
3,729 Posts
Adobe Premier is pretty good - it can do pretty much anything you will ever need. If you want to do more post-work you can add on Adobe After Effects.

I use both of these pretty much on a daily basis at work.

- Rick

·
Registered
946 Posts
I'd also recommend Premiere. It's fairly intuitive (all self-taught), and as Rick says will do just about anything you need. I've tried Vegas Video but prefer Premiere over it.

·
Registered
5,312 Posts
Premiere, Intuitive???? Probably the most obscure user interface ever invented. Terrible learning curve. If you liked Adobe Photoshop, you'll love Premiere. :)

Seriously, I would look at Vegas Video. Has all the power of Premiere, but with a whole lot more intuitive and friendly user interface. and 1/2 the price.

If you are looking for no brainer software, Pinnacle Studio 8 is what you are looking for. However, while Premiere and Vegas Video will allow you to do things like complex color and exposure correction, Studio 8 just does the simple stuff, but it may be enough for you.

BTW, I have all three of the above mentioned products, I use Vegas 95% of the time. Premiere 5%, and the only reason I have Studio 8 was that I bought it bundled with a firewire card.

Just my $.02

Vern Dias

·
Registered
393 Posts
Discussion Starter · #7 ·
Vern, Thanks for the help. I had heard/read somewhere that several people had some problems with Pinnacle 8. I'll have to find out some more info on Vegas Video. Is that the software you use to get video into your computer? And what software do you use for burning?

Thanks again for your help.

Craig

·
Registered
326 Posts