AVS Forum banner

1 - 20 of 28 Posts

·
Registered
79 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
When I say super budget, I mean around $100. I'm a college student and I really can't afford better. I'm in a small room (14.5 x 7.5 x 7.5) or 900 cubic feet approximately.

I would also prefer a subwoofer included with the speakers because most of the music I play bass is an important factor but I guess at this price range I can't expect much, just recommend whatever gives the best immersive experience .

Going to use these speakers for music, movies, TV shows and games from my computer.

·
Registered
606 Posts
I'm a big fan of the Pioneer BS-22. They can be had frequently for under $100.

If you find a set of speakers, including the sub for $100, it will be junk. Don't bother with it. The BS-22's have surprising bass for their size. Start with those, then add a sub later when you can afford to.

·
Registered
79 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
Thanks for the recs guys, I'm actually at a cross as to which speakers to buy so I'll make a separate thread about it. Your help is much appreciated.

·
Registered
6,814 Posts
I would go with a pair of these: http://www.accessories4less.com/mak...90-3-way-bookshelf-speakers-pair-black/1.html

They have an 8" woofer and will do a great job filling a dorm room. You can drive them with just about anything, maybe a t-amp or a used receiver from Craigslist.

Used is another good option, see if you have any Paradigm 5/7 SE speakers near you, they are excellent speakers and should be in your range.

·
Registered
79 Posts
Discussion Starter #9 (Edited)
I decided to post it in this thread after all.
So after much research I decided it would be either:
Pioneer BS22s ......or
the Micca MB42X pair

*The Yamahas are too expensive and the Sound Appeal didn't have enough reviews for me to be confident in buying them.