AVS Forum banner
1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
Joined
·
2,744 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
From TV Technology:

http://www.tvtechnology.com/blog.asp...846&blogid=314


It will be interesting to see how smooth this switch is compared to Wilmington. From what I have been able to find, I don't see nearly the outreach that Wilmington had for a similar number of OTA viewers.


This web page shows towns that stand to lose coverage, by station:

http://www.starbulletin.com/business..._tomorrow.html


I see a lot of red areas on that page. Perhaps it will improve when KHNL and KGMB construct maximized facilities. KHNL is currently operating at 5.9kW on UHF.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
4,540 Posts

Quote:
Originally Posted by Falcon_77 /forum/post/15561680


This web page shows towns that stand to lose coverage, by station:

http://www.starbulletin.com/business..._tomorrow.html


I see a lot of red areas on that page.

A red dot on that chart doesn't necessarily mean a loss of OTA coverage, because some of us never had OTA coverage to lose. Beside Waimanalo, where I live, there are three red and two black dots, but I doubt it is possible to receive any of Oahu's analog stations from here, and I'm pretty sure none of the digital signals can be received, even after power increases. The problem is a range of sizable cliffs around the town. Looking around my neighborhood, I see no TV antennas (other than a few satellite dishes). I think almost everyone has cable.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
853 Posts
From reports that I am getting KHON's repeater on Maui is not broadcasting yet and KHET's Maui repeater(both VHF high stations) may not be propagating as well as they thought. The others are on-line from Maui and are filling in their areas quite well.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
853 Posts
For those of you outside Hawaii, the local CBS station KGMB airs it's newscast live on-line at http://www.kgmb9.com . They have provided the most coverage of the DTV switch in Hawaii.


Their newscast are at 5pm HST(7pm PST/10pm EST), 6pm HST(8pm PST/11 pm EST) and 10pm HST(12am PST/3am EST).


Tonights lead story will likely be about the weather, we have a wind storm due to hit tomorrow, so it may be a few minutes in before they get to the DTV switch.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
14,528 Posts

Quote:
Originally Posted by Charles O /forum/post/15566932


For those of you outside Hawaii, the local CBS station KGMB airs it's newscast live on-line at http://www.kgmb9.com . They have provided the most coverage of the DTV switch in Hawaii.


Their newscast are at 5pm HST(7pm PST/10pm EST), 6pm HST(8pm PST/11 pm EST) and 10pm HST(12am PST/3am EST).


Tonights lead story will likely be about the weather, we have a wind storm due to hit tomorrow, so it may be a few minutes in before they get to the DTV switch.

What is the streaming URL? I have looked on their site and don't see anything about live streaming. Lots of stuff about CBS program streaming.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
14,528 Posts
I have good connection to KGMB's server, but KGMB isn't there.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
14,528 Posts
Audio is back but only "analog snow" on the video. Just lost audio again.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
14,528 Posts
Came back just in time for their DTV story. Pretty vanilla.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
14,528 Posts

Quote:
Originally Posted by LMolineux /forum/post/15567800


So its going ok, but with some minor issues or glitches?

Story just stated the obvious. Now the Internet stream to watch that story was something of a completely different situation!!
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
2,744 Posts
Discussion Starter · #14 ·
It doesn't sound like Hawaii is having too many problems.


One home that appears to have been affected by losing some VHF full power stations is on this video from KHNL. However, judging from the size of the hill, I can't imagine even Low-VHF analog signals looking that great.

http://www.khnl.com/global/Category....autoStart=true


As usual, the Low-VHF > UHF issue has been all but ignored, but parts of the rest of the country won't have it as easy. There aren't many people "on the fringe" at least distance-wise in Hawaii.


Also of note on the video is that a Japanese broadcaster has taken interest in Hawaii's transition. I recall that they were observing in Wilmington as well.
 
1 - 14 of 14 Posts
Top