AVS Forum banner

1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #1

Hi -

I've been lurking here for some time, as a lot of searches I've made in a home music studio project have led here and it's clear there are a lot of great folks and info in this forum.

First, some background:

I'm at the end of a long basement renovation project that's been plagued with poor communications with the contractor, compounded by questionable workmanship in a lot of areas.  Many of the issues are documented in this thread at diychatroom.com (hope it's not against rules to link to other forums).

Anyhow, one of my biggest concerns has been poor coordination between the GC and subs, who will rush in, slap something up without *any* consultation (and often without any common sense) and then moan when I tell them it needs to be re-done.  I'm probably a pretty demanding client, but I am also a contractor in my own line of work and am just boggled at what I'm seeing in residential construction here.

The project has been to expand and re-finish our basement, which will include a guest bedroom, family room, and home office which will double as small rehearsal space and home studio (I'm soundproofing it to a certain degree, which was another thing horribly botched by my contractor).  I have to confess I've never been a huge home theatre buff, but do quite enjoy cinema and the plan has been to put a TV and basic HT audio setup in the family room.  This is largely my wife's domain, and she views it mainly as a decorating project - she's the kind of person who thinks you should just put all the speakers inside a closet so they don't clutter up the visuals and who cares how it sounds?  I'm a part-time musician, and audio is important to me, but since my home studio is already pushing the marital limits I'm not going to lobby for anything radical related to HT.