AVS Forum banner
Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
4,175 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I sell on ebay for a living, and over the last 3 or 4 of years have bought and sold a few digital projectors. I never messed with them other than to be sure there were working properly. About 1 1/2 years ago, one came in and I hooked it up to my DVD and audio system just for kicks. Having only seen a few projection systems, and they were VERY old, and a friend's system that is poorly set up, my expectations were very low. The Sharp XG-C40XU is not much of a projector, but it performed way beyond anything I could have imagined. I was simply blown away. I soon sold my Mitsubishi widescreen and set up the Sharp permanently.

About 6 mouths ago, my friend with the poorly set up CRT had it set up properly. It now looks great, and while I always knew my projectors colors were a bit weird and the contrast was horrible, I soon began to realize how severe those shortcomings were, and notice other shortcomings as well. I've also learned a lot from reading this forum from time to time over the last 1 1/2 years, which also contributed to my dissatisfaction with my projector. (Damn you all! I WAS content with my projector. Ignorance is bliss sometimes.) ;)

In any event, I have reached a point of intolerance with my projector. This morning I noticed a Barco 1208s on ebay which was local. The fact that I could pick it up in person and avoid shipping cost and shipping trauma, not to mention I could check it out before paying, made it very appealing to me. I researched this model and didn't find much, but at the last minute, after much debate, I decided to go for it.

I did notice a few AVS Forum members own this model. Any advice is appreciated. Here's a link to the auction. From the short period I had to research it, and from what little I know about this stuff, I THINK I got a decent projector at a decent price. Let me know if I screwed up or not: