AVS Forum banner
1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi everyone, I'm new to the AVS forum, this is my first post.

I hope this is the right place for this question and I also hope there's

someone here that can help me with a problem that having a serious

affect on my home life.

We have a Sylvania HDRV200F VCR/CD/DVR combo unit that has worked very well since

I bought it in 2006. With the exception of the DVD/CD player recorder that I just replaced

with a separate unit.

Really the only part of it we use and we've been using it every day is the DVR.

My wife's work schedule causes her to get home late usually getting home at 8:30

or 9pm. I program the DVR to record the evenings TV watching.

A couple weeks ago the remote got to where it would not access the Timer Programing

function nor the "Top Menu". This will not allow me to program anything or play anything

that's already programed.

I figured it was in the remote control since the unit is sitting right where it's been sitting

since I brought it home in 2006, and the remote control regularly hits the hard wood floor

when it gets knocked off my end table.

So I bought a replacement remote, it does, or doesn't do the same things. I talked to the

people at the replacement remote place and they sent instructions on how to test it using

a digital camera. The remote passes their tests so they say the problem must be with

the unit. Being hard headed I wasn't going to believe it, so I found another replacement

remote on Amazon and bought it, yes it also doesn't do the same thing so I guess there

must be something wrong with the main unit.

I've tried everything in setup that I can find, I can't see anything that's wrong, it just won't

let me access the Timer Program, the button does nothing, nor the Top Menu, it's button

does nothing too.

Does anyone have any idea what might be the problem, I'm about to pull what left of

my hair out.

Thanks a bunch,

Ron W4RON