AVS Forum banner

Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 3 of 3 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
hi guys. i've been lurking for a while on the various newsgropus pertaining to home theaters and I was wondering if anyone could help me out with a few questions. Let me first say that I have spent hours looking through posts and doing searches to find these answers. I don’t want you guys to think that I just want quick answers w/o doing my homework =) But honestly, any help you guys can offer would be great. I recently, ummmm “acquired†a NEC Multisync MT1040 and have been looking into setting up a home theater in my apartment. Now I have compute knowledge, so I’m not a complete idiot, but I am a relative newbie when it comes to HT PC stuff. The specs from the MT1040 are as follows

Brightness 1300 Lumens

Image Size: 30 - 300 inches diagonal

Zoom Lens, Power F1.8-2.2, f=49.3-59.3mm

Projection Distance 4.3-36.8ft (1.3m-11.2m)

True Resolution XGA (1024x768)

Compressed Resolution SXGA (1280x1024)

Auto-Resize Yes

Rear Screen Yes

Type of Projection LCD Poly-sci, 3 Panel

Number of Colors 16.7 Million

Lamp Type NSH lamp, 150 Watts

Contrast Ratio 300:1

Inputs 2 Computer (PC card), 2 Video, Audio (HDTV optional)

I guess it is more of a presentation projector than a HT projector but can it still serve as a relatively fair HT projector?

I hooked it up to a DVD player and displayed it against the far plain white wall in my room and it looked pretty good. I know how to tweak all the settings for video and such to make the pic look its best. I’m defiantly not complaining, as it beats the hell out of my old 19’ television but I did notice that the colors don’t look quite as sharp as a regular CRT television. I’m not sure how to describe it, but I guess this is one of the cons of a projection system for HT use (or so I have read).