AVS Forum banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Newbie here, so thanks in advance for any help . . . My wife and I have the chance to have wiring etc. installed during construction, and I've done quite a bit of thinking, reading etc. We also sought and received a quote from a sound design company for a whole house system. It was WAY too high for our tastes, which are: 1) Using music as ambient background while hosting card parties, etc. for the folks in the congregation I pastor; and/or 2) Basic listening. In other words, I don't need top of the line equipment.

The quote included 2.5K of speaker wire at $1.00 a foot with the plan including locating equipment in one closet (home run?), using Klipsch in-ceiling speakers, two Sonos ZP90's, and six ZP120's. From reading other posts I gather the $11K was not out of line, even though it didn't include installation. However, I feel I can save money in several areas. Therefore, I would like some feedback on the following:

1) Rather than running everything to one closet I am planning to have the electrician run an electrical outlet into the closet in EACH room and running the speaker wire for the in-ceiling speakers into that closet to a wall plate. This will reduce the amount of speaker cable and separate each zone (spatially). My reasoning is that it will allow me (and/or anyone who might want to purchase the house if we ever have to sell it) to connect/disconnect the sound for any room using either Sonos, AirPlay, or Squeezebox equipment (along with an amp).

2) I'm planning on using Apple Airport Express units rather than Sonos equipment. I can't justify the thousands of dollars for the Sonos even though it would make things easier and seems superior. (I am willing to live with the fact that the volume control will affect every zone I have selected.)