AVS Forum banner
1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello,

I've been doing a lot of research on this forum and other sites about buying a new TV. 3 years ago I bought a 42" Philips plasma from Costco and it stopped working a few days ago. Since I purchased it before Costco changed their return policy, I am still able to return it for a new TV. This means I am only looking at TVs sold by Costco.

I have narrowed it down to these two models:

the Panasonic TC-50PS14 Plasma

and

the Sony KDL-52VL150 LCD

Most important to me is reliability. I am a college student and would like to keep this TV for a long time. How do LCDs hold up compared to plasmas? Is one more reliable than the other? A TV should last more than 3 years.

Second is picture quality. I have read the differences between LCDs and plasmas, and am aware of the pros and cons of each. Between these 2 models, which would have a better picture? Why is the Panasonic so much cheaper? Is there something the Sony has that it doesn't?

My Philips cost me $2000 back in the day so that is how much I have to work with.

What are your experiences with these sets? How do the specs of each compare?

This forum has already been a lot of help. I hope you guys can help me finalize my decision.

Thanks,

Jordan

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter · #2 ·
200 views and nobody has any input for me? I realize many of you don't buy your TVs from Costco, can anybody compare say the Panasonic S1 to the Sony V series? I am also really curious about which you think will be more reliable?

With any extra money I have left over I plan on buying a blue ray player. This TV will mainly be used for movies, some TV and video games. I may also connect my laptop from time to time.

I plan on making the return in a couple weeks, any input is greatly appreciated.

·
Registered
6,225 Posts