AVS Forum banner

681 - 700 of 724 Posts

·
Registered
Joined
·
372 Posts
It has been discussed quite a few times in several discussions here, I bet you can find them using the forum search!
As far as I remember: Most TVs have problems with RGB Full, since they are not PC Displays but playback devices for videos and therefore video legal (limited) should be used.

Off course, thats why the TV was on Limited RGB ;)

ok, l do a calibration to my oled with nvdia output RGB full 4k 8 bit, and the results comes pretty nice, gresycale 0.9DE and colors 1.9 DE.

now, if i use those settigns with my fire stick TV, who probably its outputing YCBR because its supperts upt o 12 bit to do dolby vision, will the calibration still accurate?

l mean it cant be THAT off target no?

also i wonder if the fire stick still output RGB whatever a SDR video its been playing...
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,020 Posts
Discussion Starter #682
The Fire TV Stick 4K is bit accurate in YCbCr. I believe it's written in the first post... I don't know if it's the same for the device you are using as TPG, so the results across the two might be different.
 
  • Like
Reactions: Rolls-Royce

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,020 Posts
Discussion Starter #684
Yes, unless you use Ted's pattern disc.
 
  • Like
Reactions: ConnecTEDDD

·
Registered
Joined
·
9,736 Posts
But not when used as a TPG, correct?
Hi, You can use reference patterns (video files) as Amazon Fire TV Stick 4K supports external USB drives and USB peripherals via an OTG cable, in that case, patterns will be bit-perfect.

However, PGenerator is a better solution for patch generation, and you can keep your FireTV for playback:

 

·
Registered
Joined
·
15 Posts
Tv Philips pus8555 ips..
Calman 2020 (0-255) + LightSpace Connect + FireStick lite 2020 (1080p 60 Hz RGB) output bit accurate! That is, the result is identical to that via usb with the stock player and the gray scale 16-235 set in calman ..
If I leave 16-235 in Calman, it takes away 80 nits of brightness and the results are poor.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,020 Posts
Discussion Starter #688
Tv Philips pus8555 ips..
Calman 2020 (0-255) + LightSpace Connect + FireStick lite 2020 (1080p 60 Hz RGB) output bit accurate! That is, the result is identical to that via usb with the stock player and the gray scale 16-235 set in calman ..
If I leave 16-235 in Calman, it takes away 80 nits of brightness and the results are poor.
That's because firetv cannot be set to 0-255 so it's correct what you have done.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,020 Posts
Discussion Starter #689
I'm using avs hd 709 on a flash drive from my ps4 pro set to limited.

Is this good enough?
You should ask on the avs-hd709 thread. Sorry.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
8,311 Posts
So far, ATV 4K and 4th Gen are more accurate with RGB high output, I hope the next generation of Apple TV will be bit perfect with every output. What I saw, historically, it's that it's getting worse every time: 3rd Gen was bit perfect in YCC and RGB, 4th Gen only in RGB and 4K is not bit perfect with any output, but RGB high is better.

Also, ATV 4K has a higher gamma (darker image) compared to other devices, so you'd need to specifically calibrate it targeting a lower gamma (eg. 2.3/2.35 instead of 2.4).
So if I calibrated the TV for gamma 2.4 and I use the ATV 4k on it I would set the TV to 2.3 instead of 2.4 while using the ATV 4k?

Sent from my SM-G981U using Tapatalk
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
4,495 Posts
Tv Philips pus8555 ips..
Calman 2020 (0-255) + LightSpace Connect + FireStick lite 2020 (1080p 60 Hz RGB) output bit accurate! That is, the result is identical to that via usb with the stock player and the gray scale 16-235 set in calman ..
If I leave 16-235 in Calman, it takes away 80 nits of brightness and the results are poor.
You need to have “expand to pc levels” Checked on the Calman source tab for UPGCI.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
201 Posts
PGenerator + HD Fury Device = HDR10 RGB-Video Patch Generation

For users who want to generate bit-perfect HDR10 patch generation for their HDR10 calibration, using PGenerator which is bit-perfect with RGB output combined with an HD Fury device (for metatadata/avi injection) can be used.

Using the HD Fury GUI, the user has to add to custom HDR10 Metadata (Tick always to send REC.2020 flag):

Custom Metadata (0.005 Black / 1000 nits Peak): 87:01:1a:74:02:00:c2:33:c4:86:4c:1d:b8:0b:d0:84:80:3e:13:3d:42:40:e8:03:32:00:e8:03:90:01

or

Custom Metadata (0.005 Black / 4000 nits Peak): 87:01:1a:b0:02:00:c2:33:c4:86:4c:1d:b8:0b:d0:84:80:3e:13:3d:42:40:a0:0f:32:00:e8:03:90:01

About AVI InfoFrame, usually users get the code for AVI from AVTopController panel of CalMAN but the problem with latest display models is that they require the complete header to able to provide the correct color output.

Since there no selection in CalMAN for AVTopController for the output resolution/frame rate the user will use (its not complete code with header also), for that reason you have to modify the AVI Infoframe according to the resolution you will use:

82:02:0D:AE:00:E8:64:10:00:00:00 for 1080p60 RGB (VIC 16 is the decimal code for 1080p60)

82:02:0D:AE:00:E8:64:20:00:00:00 for 1080p24 RGB (VIC 32 is the decimal code for 1080p24)

82:02:0D:AE:00:E8:64:5D:00:00:00 for 2160p24 RGB (VIC 93 is the decimal code for 2160p24)

82:02:0D:AE:00:E8:64:51:00:00:00 for 2160p60 RGB (VIC 97 is the decimal code for 2160p60)

If the user will use the 'short AVI code' without header which CalMAN generates, while the patterns will be HDR10, the gamut readings will be totally wrong with high under-saturation of colors.
I had a question: If a person picked up an AVLab 4K, could they do similar to get an accurate YCbCr HDR10 video patch, or does this only work with RGB?
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,020 Posts
Discussion Starter #693
As far as I know, DVDO AvLab TPG doesn't have customizable AVI infoframe and Rec.2020/P3 color spaces. So my short answer would be: no.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
201 Posts
As far as I know, DVDO AvLab TPG doesn't have customizable AVI infoframe and Rec.2020/P3 color spaces. So my short answer would be: no.
I was meaning the AVLab with either an HDFury Vertex or HDFury Integral 2. The HDFury would be the one with the configurable AVI infoframe.

Ted mentioned being able to do the same as with the PGen + HD Fury with other generators like DVDO and Accupel, which I took specifically to mean RGB being bit-perfect. So, I was asking about YCbCr, and, if so, whether or not different values were needed to achieve it.

But I do thank you for the answer. Very much appreciated.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,020 Posts
Discussion Starter #695
Sorry, I misunderstood your question. Yes, you can use AvLab or any other TPG before the HDFury. I don't see any problem using YCC patterns also (AvLab is bit perfect in YCC 10 bit, not in 8), but I'd wait for Ted's OK before getting it as a green light.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
5,325 Posts
I had a question: If a person picked up an AVLab 4K, could they do similar to get an accurate YCbCr HDR10 video patch, or does this only work with RGB?
AFAIK, it's only with RGB. RGB is the same in SDR and HDR. For YCbCr, the maths are completely different between SDR and HDR, and the HDFury units can't do that.
@Anger.miki I didn't know the AVLab wasn't bit-perfect in 8-bit YCbCr. I'll have to remember that the next time I use mine. Thanks for the information! :)
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,020 Posts
Discussion Starter #697
Yes, Maciej told me that.
 
  • Like
Reactions: Rolls-Royce

·
Registered
Joined
·
201 Posts
So, picked the used one up anyways because $330 was a good price. Now, if only able to get an HDFury that works with Calman... I know that the Integral works with it, but...
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
9,846 Posts
681 - 700 of 724 Posts
Top