AVS Forum banner
1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
39 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm tired of trying to follow this amusing debate through the thread that was started for MFW owners. So, let's do the intelligent thing here and separate the two so that neither are interfering with the other.

First, my background:

I've been building computers for ~17 years or so and have experimented with quite a few methods of cooling. I've done water, phase change, and many many air based setups. My brother was also the research and development project manager for Velocity Micro (boutique computer company similar but way smaller than Alienware) and he often had the opportunity to talk to Intel/Nvidia engineers about certain aspects of their hardware including talking about operating temperatures a LOT. His job was to custom build new computers to overclock and optimize to sell to consumers, so I learned a ton through him in the past few years. Now, I'll throw my opinion in here for it to get disputed.

First things first, electronics without a doubt run better (and overall, longer) cooler than hotter. This is fact and is not worth disputing. However, there are also things called design tolerances. When an engineer sits down and designs any piece of electronic gear, temperature is one of the major concerns, because engineers know that temperature severely affects electronics. Knowing the temperature concerns, they factor in things like intended use, operating environment, ambient temperature, etc. Anything in particular about the design that is important is usually printed in owner's manual (things like x inches/feet of clearance for airflow or what not).