AVS Forum banner
Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
61 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
First off, let me say that I am not a projector expert by any stretch of the imagination. I got my Sony VPL-VW10HT about 2 weeks ago and Peter's projector is only the second of which I got an extended demo. I suspect that Peter and the other guests have far more experience than I do.

With that out of the way...

Peter was projecting the HT200 with an ISCO II lens onto a 84" Stewart Greyhawk screen. The Greyhawk definitely looks grey when you compare it to the white walls that are next to it, but when the projector is running, the whites seem white.

Peter had a variety of DVDs to choose from, and he also demoed the local cable signal along with a copy of the Phantom Menace on laserdisc. It was quite interesting to see how the perception of the projector's abilities changed with the source material, but more on that later.

Since I have the 10HT, you can imagine that the first thing I looked for was black level. The Seleco seemed better than the 10HT but not hugely better. However, even disregarding the fact that I didn't have the 10HT there to properly A/B the two, it still isn't an even contest. The Seleco was shown with a Greyhawk, but my 10HT has at least a 100" wide picture. With either picture, however, I am fairly satisfied with the black level.

Contrast... We commented throughout the night that more important than a deep black is a high contrast ratio. Now, I know that the two are intertwined, but the Seleco seemed to have an incredible contrast ratio. This is particularly evident when looking at shadow detail. I certainly had nothing to complain about as far as overall contrast was concerned.