AVS Forum banner

1 - 20 of 22 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
dear forum i am a newbie so please forgive my simple question.
i want to buy a dvd or blue ray recorder with a hard drive. i am not that bothered about the manufacturer as long as it's not panasonic.
i want a machine that is reasonably priced with a small hd that i can upgrade to the largest possible size. i know it seems impossible to find one with a external hdmi, god bless you sony :) but i would like to have a rgb input so i can record from other devices NOT composite. Do these machines exist any more ???? Thank you in advance for your time and patience.

scott

·
Registered
13,219 Posts
Sorry but you are way late to the party. The "age" of DVD Recorders is over. The last models since the DTV transition were the Magnavox units and it appears the last of their new stock is finally gone. What is available is on the secondary market for prices that way exceed the original purchase price and most of them are used.

No American models had BD burners, only DVD in standard definition. Aside from digital OTA or clear QAM tuners, the inputs were composite or S-video; component input was extremely rare in pre-digital days and non-existent post-digital; HDMI or rgb input was never. The Magnavox models with digital tuners had HDMI outputs. HDD's could be replaced on some but the name brands all had the size encoded in firmware so they could not be made larger. Magnavox allowed a modest increase, i.e. 500GB -> 1TB, for some models.

Reactions: Scott McMahon

·
Registered
3,298 Posts
Do these machines exist any more ????
No, and as Kelson said, they never existed in the first place.

Only a tiny handful of early DVD recorders had RGB (component) input, and most of those models were so unreliable and poor video quality that little or nothing was gained by using their RGB inputs (aside from getting a true 16:9 widescreen signal recorded from decoder box outputs). In any case the signal recorded was standard definition.