AVS Forum banner

921 - 940 of 1397 Posts

·
Registered
Joined
·
42 Posts
I just got my BH100 yesterday and I love it! It's supposed to have the latest firmware update from February installed, but how do I check to see which firmware is running just to be sure? Do you think a May 2007 build date would be region free for BD?
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
4,355 Posts

Quote:
Originally Posted by solardee /forum/post/14268603


I just got my BH100 yesterday and I love it! It's supposed to have the latest firmware update from February installed, but how do I check to see which firmware is running just to be sure? Do you think a May 2007 build date would be region free for BD?

Welcome to the Club !!!! The info is in this thread somewhere.And I think in one of the downloadable documents where the actual frmwear downloads are.


Athanasios
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
42 Posts

Quote:
Originally Posted by nashou66 /forum/post/14271214


Welcome to the Club !!!! The info is in this thread somewhere.And I think in one of the downloadable documents where the actual frmwear downloads are.


Athanasios

Thanks! I found all of the info here . My BH100 does indeed have the latest firmware installed and should be region free with the hack.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,864 Posts
FYI in case you guys haven't noticed, there looks to be a new BH100 firmware:


Firmware name: BH01080624A

Firmware date: 06/24/2008

Go to:


USA - http://us.lgservice.com/

Canada - http://ca.lgservice.com/

UK - http://gb.lgservice.com/

Belgium - http://be.lgservice.com/

Switzerland - http://ch.lgservice.com/


If your country isn't listed, go to: http://www.lgservice.com/

Then:


1. Click on DEVICE DRIVER, then click on DVD&VIDEO&SET TOP

2. Click the Search button

3. You will be presented with a list of BH100/BH200 downloads, the highest BH100/BH200 link in the list is the latest firmware.
 

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
4,708 Posts
bradavon, very nice post.

Thank you for taking the time to insert the links and the concise and accurate information you provided. All "older" AVS members should take note.


Quote:
Originally Posted by bradavon /forum/post/14323820


FYI in case you guys haven't noticed, there looks to be a new BH100 firmware:


Firmware name: BH01080624A

Firmware date: 06/24/2008

Go to:


USA - http://us.lgservice.com/

Canada - http://ca.lgservice.com/

UK - http://gb.lgservice.com/

Belgium - http://be.lgservice.com/

Switzerland - http://ch.lgservice.com/


If your country isn't listed, go to: http://www.lgservice.com/

Then:


1. Click on DEVICE DRIVER, then click on DVD&VIDEO&SET TOP

2. Click the Search button

3. You will be presented with a list of BH100/BH200 downloads, the highest BH100/BH200 link in the list is the latest firmware.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1 Posts
Okay, I've had the BH100 for a bit. It's been great, except for one thing it doesn't project 1080P picture only 1080i. I know for a fact my TV is a 1080P T.V. However I can't scrounge the model number it's one of the Panasonic Viera TH- series (which is a plasma) now I can get it to be set to 1080P, but it is to the right hand corner of the screen, as in only 1/2 to 3/4ths of the T.V. is covered, I heard that on Plasmas the BH100 doesn't project 1080P is this true and is there a work around?
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
4,355 Posts
it should work, there has to be some sort of control or setting in your plasma to allow it. It sounds like a timing problem with front and back porch settings of the built in processing of the scaler. A external Video processor would do the job but it will probably

too expensive unless you really want a great picture!


or call panasonic 1-800-211-PANA (7262)


Athanasios
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,838 Posts

Quote:
Originally Posted by usmc123 /forum/post/14375111


Okay, I've had the BH100 for a bit. It's been great, except for one thing it doesn't project 1080P picture only 1080i. I know for a fact my TV is a 1080P T.V. However I can't scrounge the model number it's one of the Panasonic Viera TH- series (which is a plasma) now I can get it to be set to 1080P, but it is to the right hand corner of the screen, as in only 1/2 to 3/4ths of the T.V. is covered, I heard that on Plasmas the BH100 doesn't project 1080P is this true and is there a work around?

The Bh100 does send A 1080p rez but only "[email protected]" the BH100 cant send [email protected] so if the Fixed panel display does not support A [email protected] input the BH100 will only send [email protected] So by the sound of your above post your Panasonic plasma does'nt except A 1080 24p format....
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1 Posts
Hi, I've had a BH100 for a while. It wouldn't play die hard 4 so I updated the drivers once with the latest drivers right after Christmans when I got Live Free or Die Hard and it wouldn't play. it worked fine. Now though, I'm having another problem (and have no idea if it is related to updates or what). My BH100 will play Blu-Ray movies and HD DVD's as it is supposed to. However, it will NOT play standard DVDs. When I put a DVD in the tray and hit play it will spin it like it is trying to scan the disc, but not move beyond this point. eventually, it says disc error and ejects the disc. I thought, hey this is a rental maybe it's a bad disc. But it started to do this to every disc, new and old and personally owned ones that had not a flaw on the disc. I would try to update but of course, I don't have the proper burning software to make the proper iso files or whatnot. anyone have any recommendations? either on how to get my player to play standard DVD movies or a good, (preferably cheap or free) burning software that can make the proper iso dvds needed to update? it kind of irks me that here I have this expensive player that supposedly plays everything, yet can only play the more advanced movies, not the less advanced, and have to watch my movies on my xbox 360 using a controller that shuts off every 20 minutes to watch most of my collection. If the solution to my problem is somewhere in this thread that someone knows, can you link me? I don't have time right now to sift through thirty pages of thread, Thanks.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
561 Posts
I just bought a display model online for my dad $180. Hopefully it will be trouble free because he's pretty impatient about these things. I will only be able to make it home every 3-4 months to update the firmware!


Anyway I wanted to get him a BD player because I was tired of lugging my player over there so he could watch some of my BDs.
He already has an HD DVD player and about 10 HD DVDs (and I have a bunch) so this should work out well for him.


He is upset that HD DVD lost and told me he wasn't going to pick up a BD player until they got down to $100. I didn't feel like waiting until 2012.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
3,888 Posts

Quote:
Originally Posted by shawnmos /forum/post/14381655


I just bought a display model online for my dad $180. Hopefully it will be trouble free because he's pretty impatient about these things. I will only be able to make it home every 3-4 months to update the firmware!


Anyway I wanted to get him a BD player because I was tired of lugging my player over there so he could watch some of my BDs.
He already has an HD DVD player and about 10 HD DVDs (and I have a bunch) so this should work out well for him.


He is upset that HD DVD lost and told me he wasn't going to pick up a BD player until they got down to $100. I didn't feel like waiting until 2012.

Where online did you buy it for that cheap??
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
3,888 Posts
Someone correct me here...


the LG100 can decode internally all major codecs (except DTS MA) and send them via HDMI to any type of receiver (like a HTIB).
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
4,355 Posts

Quote:
Originally Posted by GizmoDVD /forum/post/14383345


Someone correct me here...


the LG100 can decode internally all major codecs (except DTS MA) and send them via HDMI to any type of receiver (like a HTIB).

Mine shows DTS HD in the menu, I think that is DTS MA, they may have just added the wrong text, any how it sounds great out of the analog outs to my pre amp.


Athanasios
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
561 Posts
Looks like we lost a lot of posts. Anyway someone asked about enabling HDi. I think if HDi was enabled some discs would not play due to compatibility issues and because it was an unofficial hack, no one would be able to fix them.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
4,355 Posts
Yeah this sucks ! I say we start a new thread for this stuff on another forum.


Athanasios
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
11 Posts
Hello,

i am an owner of the LG BH-100 and an owner of a HDV-Camcorder (Canon HV10) and I would like to know if there is anybody who was able to create a playable "Mini HD DVD" (e.g. with Ahead Nero ->4.7gb about 22 minutes) at the LG BH-100.


I tried but with no success.


First I have transfered ca. 20 minutes of my videocam per firewire with the Software called "D-VHS Transport Stream Capture Tool CapDVHS v0.3.0.6".


After that I get a video with the resolution 1440X1080.


Moreover I used the application Ahead Nero to create a Mini HD DVD at a DVD-R and the application said to me that the burning was successful/OK.


Than I put the DVD-R in my LG BH-100 and on my screen in upper left side there was shown the information "HD DVD" but suddenly after this the screen shows suddenly "Diskfehler" (Discerror).


I tried other DVD marks but the same failure.


Sorry for my poor english, I am living in Germany and I was learning english only at school long years ago.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
3 Posts
i'm from germany too ;-) it is possible for you to create to small test iso to download? i will test it on my system...
 
921 - 940 of 1397 Posts
Top