AVS Forum banner

41 - 60 of 13807 Posts

·
Registered
Joined
·
12,365 Posts

Quote:
Originally Posted by tyree91 /forum/post/19969225


Roger, you knew best. I just tested the Aix HD Sampler Disc and using the Two Channel 96/24 selection on the disc played on my Marantz UD-9004, and routing it to my PSA Perfect Wave DAC the SPDIF PCM Stream is down sampled to 48 kHz, and I wouldn't doubt that it's at a bit depth of 16, although I have no way to verify that. I also have no way to test the HDMI Output until my CB HD is returned.

Perhaps other players will pass the 96/24 PCM over SPDIF. I will try to get ahold of an Oppo this week to see. I have one coming in for a customer on Wed. The plot thickens.

Norm, the player I tested was the Oppo BDP-83, and it behaved same as you described.


BTW, for any of you who have devices that read PCM formats, while they may indeed report 24 bits, there is actually no assurance that there is 24-bit data in that signal. It may be a 24-bit path delivering 16-bit data, with the bottom LSBs padded zeros. Since there is no bitrate penalty in these interfaces, it makes sense to run them at 24 bit all the time regardless of the payload.
 

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
7,212 Posts

Quote:
Originally Posted by audiman /forum/post/19968204


Not sure i understand what you guys are trying to do : how many Gen 8 are you going to use?


I thought also that both hi-rez audio and video were protected by hdcp. Beside your earing habilities, It will be difficult to be sure at 100% that hi-rez will play played thru the gen 8

I am know among my friends for always having a plan B. Plan B is a modified Oppo player sending high-rez PCM via SPDIF and the rest of the channels to the CBIII-HD via HDMI. Both the CBIII-HD and the Gen VIII use the same Motorola DSP and the Casablanca would be controlling volume in both units so I know volume would match. The question then would be whether the data sent via SPDIF and HDMI would sync, any time delay for audio sent via the two different interfaces.
 

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
5,287 Posts
So if I understand this correctly, if one wanted to add digital room correction for say 7.1 then 4 digital output cards would be required, would that be correct?
 

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
7,212 Posts

Quote:
Originally Posted by LJG /forum/post/0


So if I understand this correctly, if one wanted to add digital room correction for say 7.1 then 4 digital output cards would be required, would that be correct?

Yes but do not know how feasible that would be. You would need 4 Gen VIIIs. Basically you would be bypassing all of the dacs in the Casablanca. If you are using the digital out if the Casablanca, the just it's card would do.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
936 Posts

Quote:
Originally Posted by LJG /forum/post/19971056


So if I understand this correctly, if one wanted to add digital room correction for say 7.1 then 4 digital output cards would be required, would that be correct?

While you might still want to use 4 Gen. VIIIs, you'd still really only need the one Digi-out card cause it does support 12 channels.


Everyone assumes the Digi-out card is for just two channels because we only talk about the single two channel AES/EBU connection, when in reality it also has 6 more two channel Digital Coax connections.


I don't know how effective it would be to use some room correction for just the front two channels, while continuing to use your Extreme DACs for the rest of your set-up, but that should certainly be a option, or at least a possibility.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
58 Posts

Quote:
Originally Posted by kenlong69 /forum/post/19968641


Hi all,


My CB3HD shipped today - woohoo!


Is there any word on the new DAC card that is supposed to be in the works and released close to the HDMI upgrade time?


Am I reading correctly - the Gen 8 V2 cannot play 192Khz audio? I thought the specs on the Theta site claims that it does?


Cheers,

Ken

When did your CB arrive at Theta? I'm waiting patiently for mine to come back and wondering how long they are taking.
 

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
7,212 Posts

Quote:
Originally Posted by Steve Bruzonsky /forum/post/19969275


] I am in effect telling you that the Gen VIII Series 2 DAC sounds as good on 48-24 as the Marantz sounds full resolution (96-24 or 192-24 in some cases) XLR stereo analog out.

I would not be surprise if the Gen VIII sounds better running 48/16 than the Casablanca running 48/24. Sampling rate is not the only factor. Remember your first Sony SACD player vs the Granite Audio CD player?
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
21,719 Posts

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bulldogger /forum/post/19974279


I would not be surprise if the Gen VIII sounds better running 48/16 than the Casablanca running 48/24. Sampling rate is not the only factor. Remember your first Sony SACD player vs the Granite Audio CD player?

Darn. You have a great memory!
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
88 Posts

Quote:
Originally Posted by mccaff /forum/post/19973340


When did your CB arrive at Theta? I'm waiting patiently for mine to come back and wondering how long they are taking.

Hey Mccaff - Mine arrived at Theta on Jan 11th and I was in the early adopted program which meant that I was on the "fast upgrade (5 - 7 days)" list.


Cheer,s

Ken
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
909 Posts
Steve, you may find you don't need the PWT in light of your new purchase, but I wouldn't want to be without my PWD & Bridge. Other than Vinyl and DSD, it's the only way I listen to music. If you were to get rid of them you would certainly need to get a Qsonix or Sooloos so you can stream your music without getting up to change Silver Discs. Norm
 

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
5,287 Posts

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bulldogger /forum/post/19971150


Yes but do not know how feasible that would be. You would need 4 Gen VIIIs. Basically you would be bypassing all of the dacs in the Casablanca. If you are using the digital out if the Casablanca, the just it's card would do.

So no digital back in, I thought early on it was thought the digital output card could allow for digital room correction and use of the CB3HD dacs I guess I misunderstood
 

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
7,212 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by LJG
So no digital back in, I thought early on it was thought the digital output card could allow for digital room correction and use of the CB3HD dacs I guess I misunderstood
It would be nice if there were digital EQ and external dacs that could accept digital and output via HDMI. The primary reason seems to be the cost of adding HDMI.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
318 Posts
Theta has updated their website and do show a new digital output card in the high rez photo


FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE


CONTACT:

Jeff Hipps

+1 (323) 278-0001 ext. 113 voice

+1 (323) 278-0083 fax
[email protected]
www.thetadigital.com


THETA DIGITAL SHIPS UPDATED CASABLANCA III HD PREAMP / PROCESSOR

ADDS HDMI 1.4 AND LOSSLESS AUDIO DECODING

ANNOUNCES UPGRADE AND TRADE-IN PROGRAMS


Montebello, CA , February 1, 2011 - The most widely acclaimed manufacturer of high-end audio components, Theta Digital, has begun shipments of its updated flagship preamp processor, the Casablanca III HD. Originally introduced over 15 years ago, the Casablanca series has undergone continuous development designed to maintain it at the forefront of the audiophile world. In its latest iteration, the Casablanca III HD adds four HDMI 1.4 inputs and decoding for Dolby TrueHD and DTS-HD Master Audio to the Casablanca III platform.


Depending on the user-selected configuration, pricing for the Casablanca III HD with eight channels of Digital to Analog conversion starts at $14,995.00 USD and can run to well over $20,000.00 USD when configured for twelve channel output using Theta Digital's top-of-the-line Xtreme D-2 digital to analog converters.


Theta Digital also announced two new programs designed to allow owners of previous generations of the Casablanca preamp / processor to keep their components up-to-date.


The first program adds three new circuit boards, a new power supply and new operating system to the existing Casablanca III and brings it fully to Casablanca III HD status. MSRP for the HD upgrade is $4,995.00 USD.


The second program offers owners of the Casablanca I or II (previous generations of the Theta Digital preamp/processor) a trade-in allowance of up to $5,000.00 USD applied to the purchase of the new Casablanca III HD.


According to Jeff Hipps, Theta Digital's head of sales and marketing, "the trade in program continues our commitment to protect the value of the Theta owner's investment while keeping his components at the edge of the art."


Users seeking more details on the new model, the upgrade program or the trade-in program should consult with their Theta Digital dealer or international representative.


About Theta Digital


Theta Digital designs and manufactures state-of-the-art audio components in its facility in Montebello, CA. With impeccable style, world-class cosmetic design and leading-edge audio circuitry, Theta Digital components are a fitting accompaniment for the finest possible audio and video systems.



--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
527 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by rick e
Theta has updated their website and do show a new digital output card in the high rez photo
Thanks.

Here is the link to the photo showing the digital output card with 4x AES/EBU: http://www.thetadigital.com/download...a_3HD_Rear.jpg


I haven´t been able to find any other information about this card on Theta´s web site. If you go to the CBIII configuration it is not a choice there either. Leaves me kind of wondering when - or if - this will be available.
 

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
7,212 Posts

Quote:
Originally Posted by Armand07 /forum/post/19983588


Thanks.

Here is the link to the photo showing the digital output card with 4x AES/EBU: http://www.thetadigital.com/download...a_3HD_Rear.jpg


I haven´t been able to find any other information about this card on Theta´s web site. If you go to the CBIII configuration it is not a choice there either. Leaves me kind of wondering when - or if - this will be available.

One of the threads that was deleted discussed this. That card has been abandoned because the old one works fine. Actually the old one,IMO, works better because it offers digital outs for all 12 channels.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
527 Posts

Quote:
Originally Posted by mccaff /forum/post/19984158


I guess that if I had waited for Theta's announcement, I would have missed out on the half-price DAC sale.

The discounted prices are confirmed by Theta to my local dealer. But I agree, I haven´t exactly seen a marketing campaign about this...

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bulldogger /forum/post/19984498


One of the threads that was deleted discussed this. That card has been abandoned because the old one works fine. Actually the old one,IMO, works better because it offers digital outs for all 12 channels.

Sometimes hard to know what is fact and what is only speculation when it comes to things like this and discussed in a forum. What actually is confirmed by Theta is different. Anyway, if you are right, they should not have the card displayed on their web site. It is misleading.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
21,719 Posts

Quote:
Originally Posted by Armand07 /forum/post/19985644


The discounted prices are confirmed by Theta to my local dealer. But I agree, I haven´t exactly seen a marketing campaign about this...



Sometimes hard to know what is fact and what is only speculation when it comes to things like this and discussed in a forum. What actually is confirmed by Theta is different. Anyway, if you are right, they should not have the card displayed on their web site. It is misleading.

Theta is a small boutique operation, part of a much larger operation of its parent company, ATI. Theta's been working hard to get us the CB3 HD and simply hasn't got around to revising the website again.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
242 Posts

Quote:
Originally Posted by Steve Bruzonsky /forum/post/19986201


Theta is a small boutique operation, part of a much larger operation of its parent company, ATI. Theta's been working hard to get us the CB3 HD and simply hasn't got around to revising the website again.

Is there a PDF version of the CB3HD manual yet? It would be great to read it before mine arrives.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
909 Posts

Quote:
Originally Posted by SamKVA /forum/post/19986469


Is there a PDF version of the CB3HD manual yet? It would be great to read it before mine arrives.

My understanding from Theta is that the current CB III Manual will still be valid. There will be a CB HD Adendum issued for the HDMI version and its OS. One example of a change in usage is that each Input Button 1-6 & 7-12 (Page 2) will have only three Source Jacks available using the A-D Button instead of the previous six. I don't think this will be a major issue as one will still have the option of up to 36 different inputs. Norm
 
41 - 60 of 13807 Posts
Top