AVS Forum banner
1 - 20 of 3516 Posts

·
Registered
Joined
·
8,827 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
The new 2014 Aventage Line up is available for purchase.. including the top three models the RX-A 1040, 2040 and 3040.

The biggest addition is the ability of the RX-A2040 and A3040 to be upgraded to decode the new Dolby Atmos codec.

As I have time over the next week I will update this first post with all the links and details as I've done in the past two years.

At a cursory glance, the only major difference I can see is the addition of Atmos and HDMI 2.0.

In addition, there is promised a firmware update to support RGB, YCbCr 4:4:4 and YCbCr 4:2:2.

HTC Connect and Sirius XM are added, as is a new feature called YPAO Volume.

"Human ears have less sensitivity to high and low frequencies, especially at lower volumes. YPAO Volume applies loudness EQ correction to automatically adjust high and low frequency levels as volume changes. Using the YPAO measurement results, EQ correction is optimized to your system settings and listening environment."

The A3040 loses the backlit remote this year, but adds a new height measurement during YPAO setup. The A3040 also includes an add on plastic mount that attaches to the angle measurement accessory.

There are no S-Video connections at all and one less component input than last years model (3 vs 4.)

They now support gapless playback of WAV, FLAC and ALAC files both via NAS/PC and USB.

PRODUCT PAGES:

Yamaha AVENTAGE RX-A3040 Product Page

($2,199.95,)

Yamaha AVENTAGE RX-A2040 Product Page

($1,699.95)

Yamaha AVENTAGE RX-A1040 Product Page

($1,199.95)

MANUALS AVAILABLE ON THE SUPPORT TAB ACCESSIBLE THROUGH THE PRODUCT PAGES (note the A2040 and A3040 share the same manual.)

Dolby Atmos is only going to be available on the A2040 and A3040 as a firmware update, date TBA.

EDIT: The Atmos firmware will be out late 3rd Quarter or early 4th Quarter.

Yamaha RX-A2040 and 3040 Dolby Atmos Press Relese

EDIT: At CEDIA Yamaha reported the Atmos FW should be released at the end of October.


Much more to come...
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
8,827 Posts
Discussion Starter · #2 · (Edited)
Per user requests.. a repost of helpful user kriktsemaj99's PEQ Edit PC/Windows program..

PEQedit

And if anyone with a Yamaha network receiver wants to try PEQedit, the basic instructions are:

Turn your receiver on and run the program (filters can be read but not changed unless powered on). Then:
Enter the IP address of the receiver.
Press the red Open button and it should turn green if it can communicate.
It should also display the specific model number and series.
From the menu bar select View / Response Curve.
Select a specific PEQ Type and Speaker Pattern, then press UPLOAD to PC.
The slider controls and the response curve should be showing the settings read from the receiver.
Choose any Channel to display filters for that channel.
You can only make changes to Manual mode.
With manual selected you can change the filters, then press DOWNLOAD to AVR.
(downloading is pretty slow to send all 7 filters for all channels, so I really need to make it possible to download only one filter).

The response curve shows the individual filters in red and the combined response in black.
When you make changes nothing is currently changed in the AVR in real time, only the DOWNLOAD button makes changes.
It would definitely be useful to have a mode where the changes have an immediate effect.

Right now it's just a program in development, but any feedback would be useful if people have ideas what else it should do.

Note that even if you don't have one of these receivers, you can still play with the filter parameters to get a feel for how Q and the other parameters affect the filter shape.

And to repeat the download link: http://www.mediafire.com/download/imn53vkx66772n4/PEQedit.zip
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
63 Posts
I just brought home new 1040 yesterday from my local BEstbuy. They had just unloaded it and didn't even have a display model setup yet. I had actually intended to get the Pioneer Elite SC-81 at the same location but it was sold 10 minutes before I arrived. I am coming out of a 2006 Pioneer Elite VSX 84... which was a pretty high end unit back then.

I am still reading the manual and trying to understand all the setups but so far I like it. Hopefully one of you experts will post up some suggested setups for those of us that don't understand all these settings. I am still trying to label my inputs !! lol
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1 Posts
got my RX-A1040

New to Yamaha receivers. Having trouble with the scene feature. Is there a way to program the scene so that it defaults to my choice for DSP? For example the TV scene defaults to 2 channel DSP but I would prefer it default to 7 chaneel.

Thanks,
Scott
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
8,827 Posts
Discussion Starter · #7 ·
New to Yamaha receivers. Having trouble with the scene feature. Is there a way to program the scene so that it defaults to my choice for DSP? For example the TV scene defaults to 2 channel DSP but I would prefer it default to 7 chaneel.

Thanks,
Scott

Use the web interface for setup...

IP address followed by setup..

ex: http://1.1.1.1/setup

Here is a link to how it looked on the A3030... should still be the same.

You can then assign whatever surround and DSP settings for the scene to default to...

Really helpful for initial setup..

A3030 Web Interface Post
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
6,777 Posts
no new pre/peo and no update available for the CX-A5000?

if so this means Yamaha is behind their competition , Onkyo and D&M ,as they both have new pre pros with added features

Not good...as it seems that buyers of the Asian brands typically want all the "whiz-bang" features


Warren
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
83 Posts
no new pre/peo and no update available for the CX-A5000?

if so this means Yamaha is behind their competition , Onkyo and D&M ,as they both have new pre pros with added features

Not good...as it seems that buyers of the Asian brands typically want all the "whiz-bang" features


Warren
There's a rumour on the RX-A030 thread that something is coming in September.

"Just off from a phone call with a Yamaha rep about the CX A 5000 and Dolby Atmos. He told me that he is yet not allowed to talk about this topic but that I should not buy the CX at this moment but should wait for the IFA in Berlin (5.-10. Sep.) He advised me also to go there as "something" will be presented. I am thinking of attending the IFA again this year. Funnily I talked to a big electronic store the other day and they told me that the CX A 5000 is listed in their system as "not available anymore". Looks like Yamaha will present the successor of the CX officially in September. I will definitely go for it then as my home cinema is Atmos ready!"

http://www.avsforum.com/forum/90-re...cx-a5000-mx-a5000-thread-97.html#post25760569
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
63 Posts
Use the web interface for setup...

IP address followed by setup..

ex: http://1.1.1.1/setup

Here is a link to how it looked on the A3030... should still be the same.

You can then assign whatever surround and DSP settings for the scene to default to...

Really helpful for initial setup..

A3030 Web Interface Post

OMG that is like opening the gates of heaven. Now I can go to each section and see the whole set of adjustments and choices. Thanks so much for posting this. I must not have got to that page in the manual yet because I have not seen anything about it.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
6,968 Posts
^ I don't think they mention the detailed setup page in the manual. Yamaha have a history of trying to keep features secret, intending them to be used only by custom installers.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
8,827 Posts
Discussion Starter · #12 ·
no new pre/peo and no update available for the CX-A5000?

if so this means Yamaha is behind their competition , Onkyo and D&M ,as they both have new pre pros with added features

Not good...as it seems that buyers of the Asian brands typically want all the "whiz-bang" features


Warren
Warren... as I speculated in the other thread, I don't think there is enough DSP horsepower in the current platform to support it via FW..

But how is Yamaha behind their competition?

They are soon to be quick, if not first, to market with these new Atmos AVR's and the pre/pro will follow..

With the 1040 hitting shelves, I've no reason to doubt the 2040 and 3040 will hit their release dates..

The manuals are dated June and there was a 1.40 firmware update last week for the unreleased models..

In line with the past 3 model launches..

Both the 5530 and 8802 are nowhere to be seen in the wild...

I think you're jumping to conclusions at this early point in the game. :cool:
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
6,968 Posts
The new remote is pretty bad (it looks like the one from the RX-V675, which I have). The buttons are so small I can't read them even in daylight, never mind a dark room.

The fact they are only adding Atmos in a later update is a bit worrying. Seems they may not have considered it in the hardware design and are squeezing it in later, so I don't know what compromises that might mean (maximum sampling rate, etc.).

And the lack of HDCP 2.2 presumably means you'll need to get protected 4K content from sources with 2 HDMI outputs, and send the video direct to the display bypassing the receiver.

All in all, I'll probably sit things out and see where things are next year, even though I'm keen to add ceiling speakers and see what Atmos is all about.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
63 Posts
Warren... as I speculated in the other thread, I don't think there is enough DSP horsepower in the current platform to support it via FW..

But how is Yamaha behind their competition?

They are soon to be quick, if not first, to market with these new Atmos AVR's and the pre/pro will follow..

With the 1040 hitting shelves, I've no reason to doubt the 2040 and 3040 will hit their release dates..

The manuals are dated June and there was a 1.40 firmware update last week for the unreleased models..

In line with the past 3 model launches..

Both the 5530 and 8802 are nowhere to be seen in the wild...

I think you're jumping to conclusions at this early point in the game. :cool:
The dealer I went to also had a 2040 they had just unloaded as well so they are out even though the best buy site didn't even list the 1040 on it.

And as soon as I plugged up the receiver and started the setup process I was notified there was a firmware update which took about 20 minutes to upload and then verify. Smooth and easy process via ethernet.

I just looked on amazon and they are listing the 2040 as available also
http://www.amazon.com/Yamaha-RX-A2040BL-Audio-Video-Receiver/dp/B00KFF4MDQ
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
6,777 Posts
But how is Yamaha behind their competition?
Marantz and Onkyo have pre/pros coming to market with the advanced features in the next couple of months

is there a new yamaha pre/pro coming in this time frame?

Personally....I dont have an interest in an AVR since I am running separates...:rolleyes:

traditionally with the Asians...its all about who has the feature set first

As opposed to Anthem, Krell ,Mcintosh ..et al ...whose buyers will wait for certain features...or dont care about them


Warren
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
8,827 Posts
Discussion Starter · #16 ·
Marantz and Onkyo have pre/pros coming to market with the advanced features in the next couple of months

is there a new yamaha pre/pro coming in this time frame?

Personally....I dont have an interest in an AVR since I am running separates...:rolleyes:

traditionally with the Asians...its all about who has the feature set first

As opposed to Anthem, Krell ,Mcintosh ..et al ...whose buyers will wait for certain features...or dont care about them


Warren
You're definition of behind is different than mine.

A year is behind.... a month or less? We don't have confirmation on any of the three pres from any of these companies afaik.

Doesn't matter.

I don't share you're sentiment. :)
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
6,777 Posts
You're definition of behind is different than mine.

A year is behind.... a month or less? We don't have confirmation on any of the three pres from any of these companies afaik.

Doesn't matter.

I don't share you're sentiment. :)
we have models and stats from the competition

but...you are right
I will have a keen eye on which companies actually release new pre/pros in 2014....;)


Warren
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
8,827 Posts
Discussion Starter · #18 ·
The fact they are only adding Atmos in a later update is a bit worrying. Seems they may not have considered it in the hardware design and are squeezing it in later, so I don't know what compromises that might mean (maximum sampling rate, etc.).
Every manufacture has done the same thing... i.e. tweaked a current platform.

Onkyo and Pioneer are also later upgrades.

Only the Denon's will ship with it in September.

Regarding sample rates.

Atmos is PCM after decoding so the sample rate shouldn't be an issue. However at this time all Atmos recordings are 48k..
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
119 Posts
Video select options

Does the 3040 allow you to select a video source while using airplay and/or the phono input? I ask because I have a 2010 model and it only allows video select on the "net" input and doesn't have airplay. My denon 4311 does have video select on the phono input and I like to watch tv while listening to records. I'm looking to swap out the 2010 with the 3040 and would be nice to have this feature.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
6,968 Posts
Every manufacture has done the same thing... i.e. tweaked a current platform.
Onkyo and Pioneer are also later upgrades.
Only the Denon's will ship with it in September.
Regarding sample rates. Atmos is PCM after decoding so the sample rate shouldn't be an issue. However at this time all Atmos recordings are 48k..

Denon have doubled the DSP resources in some models, which is more than a minor tweak, and I suspect Yamaha have not.

The point about possible compromises in sampling rate (pure speculation at this point) is that if Atmos eats up more DSP resources to decode, then there's less available for any post processing. Something has to give if they are not adding more DSP power.

Yamaha typically don't document which DSPs are in each model, and it takes the service manual to find out for sure.
 
1 - 20 of 3516 Posts
Top