AVS Forum banner

701 - 720 of 2748 Posts

·
Registered
Joined
·
275 Posts
Curious if anyone with the 1080 had the previous 1070 model. What do you like with the newer 1080 or feel is a worthwhile upgrade to spend the extra money on the 1080?
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
6,267 Posts
Thanks. Do you have to use the "scenes" function to do that or is that a menu item?
As said by others, it's a button on the remote.
 

·
Vendor
Joined
·
26,676 Posts

·
Registered
Joined
·
5,224 Posts
Thanks I sol v Ed it, I replaced the cable from the 3080 to the TV and that was the problem. Weird, it was already a high-speed HDMI cable and it worked with four or five other devices, but not with the fire stick. Mono price HDMI cable solve the issue
I would guess that your HDMI cable was sufficient for lower bit rates of data, but introducing DV/HDR to the data stream resulted in the cable falling short. Getting full "Certified" cables fr Monoprice or Blue Jeans often fixes some puzzling issue like this.

May I ask, how do you force the receiver to only use Surround AI with certain types of content? Is there a setting to do this? Or do you have to manually turn it on/off for everything?
Ok thanks. So there is no way to automatically have it be on for certain sources and off for others?
As many mentioned, there's an AI button on your remote.

But to your question, as per p. 142 of the 3080/2080 manual SURROUND:AI is a setting saved in a Scene configuration, so you can set it ON for one Scene (Blu-ray), OFF for another (TV viewing). ;) Pressing the corresponding SCENE buttons should turn it on/off for that Scene's input. :cool: See p. 77 for more info (just a wee bit more :rolleyes:) on SURROUND:AI

 

Attachments

·
Registered
Joined
·
407 Posts
I would guess that your HDMI cable was sufficient for lower bit rates of data, but introducing DV/HDR to the data stream resulted in the cable falling short. Getting full "Certified" cables fr Monoprice or Blue Jeans often fixes some puzzling issue like this.

I WAS ALREADY ABLE TO RUN AN APPLE 4K TV, 2 OTHER 4K FIRE TVS AND AN UPSCALED TO 4K OPPO 103 WITH NO PROBLEM AT ALL THRU THE PREVIOUS CABLE, IT WAS ALSO CERTIFIED UHD, BUT IT WOULDN'T PASS THE 4K FIRESTICK. THE MONOPRICE CABLE DID WITH NO PROBLEM. HDMI CAN BE A PITA, BUT HOBBIES NEED TO BE A CHALLENGE, RIGHT ? :)
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
407 Posts

·
Registered
Joined
·
538 Posts
Yamaha TSR-7850 to Yamaha RX-A2080 ?

Yamaha TSR-7850 to Yamaha RX-A2080 ?
Is this can be significant upgrade or not really. With klipsch speakers 2 atmos in front 7.1.2 system.
Trying to value the differences, most important to me is the sound, other all things are secondary for me.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
494 Posts
It's a tiny button on the remote that says AI, between volume and program buttons.
it changes automatically based on INPUT: Av 1, 2,3, etc.
On my Yamaha CX-A5200, it is input dependent. I have it "on" for the Apple 4kTV input and "off" for DTV input. They are correctly setup when I go to either; but, of course I can change them while on the input.

I would expect the xx80 series to work the same way.
As many mentioned, there's an AI button on your remote.

But to your question, as per p. 142 of the 3080/2080 manual SURROUND:AI is a setting saved in a Scene configuration, so you can set it ON for one Scene (Blu-ray), OFF for another (TV viewing). ;) Pressing the corresponding SCENE buttons should turn it on/off for that Scene's input. :cool: See p. 77 for more info (just a wee bit more :rolleyes:) on SURROUND:AI

Thanks everyone for the explanation of how Surround AI works. However there is still something I'm confused about. So according to what you are all saying Surround AI overrides all other processing and can be turned on/off wth the remote. This makes sense. But the AVR also has specific modes that upmix non-Atmos/DTSX signals to take advantage of all speakers (say a regular 5.1 or even stereo signal). In those cases, does Surround AI also take over and does its own upmixing? Or do I have to manually choose an upmixing mode per signal and then apply Surround AI on top of that?

Thanks!
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
332 Posts
Yamaha TSR-7850 to Yamaha RX-A2080 ?
Is this can be significant upgrade or not really. With klipsch speakers 2 atmos in front 7.1.2 system.
Trying to value the differences, most important to me is the sound, other all things are secondary for me.

FWIW - I just upgraded from an RX-2040 to an RX-V2085. for a 5.2.2 layout. Sound quality in Pure Direct is a wash; soundfield using 'Surround: AI' is a definite improvement over my prior / preferred upmix. Feels more dynamic, & sounds seem more spatially discrete.


I'd say it's worth it. Besides, the TSR-7850 can only do 5.1.2 or 7.1; the RX-A2080/RX-V2085 are 9 channel.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,528 Posts
Thanks for posting this! I hadn't seen it. I think Yamaha is understating the case for this great development. So far I find it an improvement over the DSP modes as well as Dolby SUR and DTS decoding.
Glad to help and sounds wonderful. I'd love to hear a good setup with this Surround AI vs decocers and Atmos. Could be dangerous though -- I've promised myself no new AVR before 2020 (to say nothing of LOML concerns!). Worth risking a trip to my favorite A/V shop... (The last time I said that in 1996 was a $5000 hit and the foundation for my entire HT! But then I was still working and had a big bonus in my back pocket.) :D
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
407 Posts
Glad to help and sounds wonderful. I'd love to hear a good setup with this Surround AI vs decocers and Atmos. Could be dangerous though -- I've promised myself no new AVR before 2020 (to say nothing of LOML concerns!). Worth risking a trip to my favorite A/V shop... (The last time I said that in 1996 was a $5000 hit and the foundation for my entire HT! But then I was still working and had a big bonus in my back pocket.) :D

Just for context FWIW: my previous avr was a Yamaha 3800 and I was very happy with it, but no Dloby Atmos, Dolby SUR, or 4K passthrough- AND since I got a new 4K OLED, I was not able to even get DD+. I also needed Dolby Vision passthrough, which I'm not sure you need. So it was time for me to at least consider a new AVR. My first 3 weeks with the 3080 were not fruitful and I was on the verge of returning it, it took at least that long to dial it in. Listening to the 3080 and Dolby Atmos at Best Buy was worse than useless. Their systems sounded awful to me. i ONLY bought the 3080 because i had a 6 week return privilege, and it took almost that long to make it work for me. YMMV! I see you've got a 3060 so it may not be worth an upgrade at all. I don't know if I'd say the surround A/I is worth the whole price of the AVR, since you have most of the other new features already. Like I say I always make sure my return policy is clear and dependable.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
407 Posts
Glad to help and sounds wonderful. I'd love to hear a good setup with this Surround AI vs decocers and Atmos. Could be dangerous though -- I've promised myself no new AVR before 2020 (to say nothing of LOML concerns!). Worth risking a trip to my favorite A/V shop... (The last time I said that in 1996 was a $5000 hit and the foundation for my entire HT! But then I was still working and had a big bonus in my back pocket.) :D

Also it took many hours for me to get this tweaked, which I chose to allow. YPAO for me I found useless, though a lot of people here seem to love it, but I've always found auto eq to be rubbish, going back 35 years. I'd rather do it by ear.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
407 Posts
Thanks everyone for the explanation of how Surround AI works. However there is still something I'm confused about. So according to what you are all saying Surround AI overrides all other processing and can be turned on/off wth the remote. This makes sense. But the AVR also has specific modes that upmix non-Atmos/DTSX signals to take advantage of all speakers (say a regular 5.1 or even stereo signal). In those cases, does Surround AI also take over and does its own upmixing? Or do I have to manually choose an upmixing mode per signal and then apply Surround AI on top of that?

Thanks!

You can manually choose an upmixing mode first BUT if you choose Surround AI on top of that, it will default to Surround AI ONLY, which is always based on Neo Cinema DTS- it won't matter what mode you chose before. It's annoying but that's what you get. Doesn't matter if the original signal is stereo, o r 5.1. (I'm not sure about 7.1)


One exception to that is if its a dolby Atmos signal, the Surround AI will keep that and build on that, as I recall. So that's cool. I assume it will build on a Dolby True HD as well though I haven;t tried that yet. I will later, now I'm curious. Don't know about DTS
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,289 Posts
I have had my 5200 for a few weeks now. After quite a bit of comparing i now just use AI for everything except music. I t really is that good.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
407 Posts
I have had my 5200 for a few weeks now. After quite a bit of comparing i now just use AI for everything except music. I t really is that good.

Good to hear! Sometimes I use it for music, sometimes prefer Dolby SuR. it varies, so far, but I'm still new with it. One thing of importance is level matching, sometimes another mode will SOUND better than surround AI but then I notice it's just louder- when they're of equal volume the preferences may switch- basic audiophile rule.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
494 Posts
You can manually choose an upmixing mode first BUT if you choose Surround AI on top of that, it will default to Surround AI ONLY, which is always based on Neo Cinema DTS- it won't matter what mode you chose before. It's annoying but that's what you get. Doesn't matter if the original signal is stereo, o r 5.1. (I'm not sure about 7.1)
I see. So just to make sure I got this right: if Surround AI is selected I basically don't have to select anything else, it will automatically decode, upmix, apply DSPs etc to all sources, and figure out how to deal with them on its own correct? So for example if I feed it an old non HD-Audio DVD it will do its thing and utilize all speakers?

If so that would actually be great, a one button solution to maximizing all sources...
 
701 - 720 of 2748 Posts
Top