AVS Forum banner

Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 20 of 42 Posts

·
Registered
252 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am considering entering the realm or DVD recording.

What I mainly plan to do is capture old VHS and 8mm footage and archive them on DVD. (Making them more viewable, preserving them and clearing up lots of space)

I plan to take like 30min of monotonous home movies and shorten them as much as possible to store them on DVD. And make chapters for weddings and other family events, etc.

I have a 2.53Ghz P4 with 512MB of RDRAM. And have about 50gigs of HD space to devote to this process.

I have a Sony DCR-TRV38 Mini-DV camcorder which has an analog-digital pass through. I aim to capture analog footage by connecting a VCR and 8mm camcorder to my Mini-DV camcorder in hopes of not having to mess with all those capture cards.

-

I have some experience with Adobe Premiere 6.5 as I have read the book and made some practice VCDs and SVCDs with the free TMPGEnc encoder.

All I need to buy is a PC DVD-Recorder and a firewire cable to get going.

-How would a standalone, say Panasonic DVD recorder, be to my advantage?

-Which method is more cost effective?

-In particular is the PQ of digital-analog pass-through on my DV-cam good or should I buy a analog capture card?

-If I am to buy an internal PC DVD recorder, which one is the best?

-Is standalone recording faster than a PC?

-Which method is better at preserving PQ? (whether I will notice any on analog captures.)

(I have minimal interest in recording TV programs, even if I wanted to record them, I could utilize a TV capture card for my PC, which I assume is better than a standalone.)

Any help would greatly be appreciated!!

Thanks!!!

·
Banned
1,458 Posts
I gave up trying to convert my home videos to DVD via my PC...too time consuming and a pain at times.

I opted for the Philips DVDR75 recorder ($399 nowadays) and I love it.