AVS Forum banner

Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 20 of 25 Posts

·
Registered
448 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I've been listening to vinyl for several years and tubes for a few days. I'm stunned by what both of these formats have to offer and would like to see what some other people's experiences are with tubes or vinyl.

I don't want to debate the CD vs. Vinyl or the Tube vs. Solid State issue here. There's other threads for that. I just wanted to start one where people could share information on what their systems are, what tweaks they like, where they buy their vinyl and general experiences whith these wonderful technologies.

-Mike...

·
Registered
448 Posts
Discussion Starter · #2 ·
I recently picked up a pair of ASL Waves (AV-8), halfway as a lark, but also to hear for myself what all these tube users are talking about. As soon as I got them hooked up and started spinning some CDs, I did a few double-takes. It was a combination of wonderment that these little amps could produce such a big confident sound, and also that they just did it SO well.

The final "selling" point for me was when I played some Diana Krall. I love her sensual voice and she's always good for a goosebump or two through the course of an album. After getting goosebumps about 10 times during the first song, I swore to myself I'll never go back to solid state again! (alright, maybe a rash decision but I reserve the right to change my mind any time).

Playing vinyl through tubes was yet another level of "wow". Presence, warmth, richness and occasionally I just feel the need to look up to make sure someone hasn't just dropped the band in my living room. I never thought I'd be so close to "that" sound with the humble equipment I have.

-Mike...

·
Registered
448 Posts
I am all for tubes as I have stated in other threads and am in the process of moving to a set of tube amps for both my music and HT.

____