AVS Forum banner
1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
264 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm trying to wrap my head around speaker building theory (and it hurts, believe me
), and one topic came up that really puzzles me - passive radiators. How does a rear-mounted PR NOT create an out-of-phase sound wave in relation to the front-mounted driver? I imagine that they must move in lock-step, but maybe that's where I'm wrong. Is it an inertia effect that prevents it from happening (i.e.: delay in getting the mass of the PR moving)? Otherwise, you'd think that the PR would just bounce the back-wave of the driver off the wall behind the physical box (facing the PR), creating an out-of-phase waveform.

I know that they do work - I still have a really old pair of Klipsch KG-4's that have a large PR in the back, it's just "why" they work that's hanging me up.

Go easy on me - I'm new to this...

Bob

·
Banned
15,491 Posts

Quote:
Originally Posted by RLDWV /forum/post/18237716

I imagine that they must move in lock-step, but maybe that's where I'm wrong.

Just as with a bass reflex the air volume within the cabinet acts as a capacitor, storing energy long enough so that at and above Fb the PR output remains in phase.

·
Registered
264 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
So if you were to actually view them in super-slow-mo at Fb they would be travelling in opposite directions, is that correct? A lot of what I've read talks about PR's being easier to plan for than ports, but I guess the internal volume calculation is still critical here. Does a PR contribute to overall output for a wider frequency range than a port does? I've kind of thought of ports as providing the same effect as blowing air over the top of a soda bottle - one frequency based on the internal volume, but I'm probably over simplifying that, too.

Bob

·
Premium Member
25,516 Posts

Quote:
Originally Posted by RLDWV /forum/post/18237787