AVS Forum banner

Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
479 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I was about to click purchase on a 256MB memory stick to see how this feature works and I thought I would ask here first to see if people think the function is useful and worth the price of a 256MB stick. My PC is just over in the next room and although my monitor is no match for my 60" GWIII, it is good for a slide show. How often do you use this feature? Can the GWIII do a slide show?

Last question - the 256MB sticks have 2x128MB banks. Does the PC reader or TV see this as continous memory or do you have to turn it over or something? I have no experience with memory sticks.

Thanks,

LJ

·
Registered
58 Posts
My digital camera is a sony and I use a 128 mb card. I can pop it in the GWIII and it will run a slide show at 5 sec intervals (my settings). you can change the intervals, or make it manual slideshow instead of automatic. We hosted a superbowl party, and played the slideshow form our honeymoon pics (just married in October). It was a real hit versus 15 people looking at a 19" computer monitor in my small office area.

don't know about the 256 mb card.

·
Registered
47 Posts
Larry,

The memory sticks are seen as continuous memory blocks and do not require flipping at all. I agree with the previous poster in that the Memory Stick feature is a nice plus and a great and easy way to show a slide show to your family and friends with the TV.

·
Registered
219 Posts
I know it depends on the quality of the camera too, but I have to say I was very surprised by the quality of the picture. I was not sure how they would look being blown up so big.

·
Registered
3,945 Posts
The GWIII does a very good job displaying JPG images. I have a 128 meg stick. I think it will handle any capacity stick made.

A couple of items to note:

1) Images displayed by the memory stick reader display in Full mode only.