AVS Forum banner
1 - 20 of 26 Posts

·
Registered
162 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I've been slowly putting together a media room and I'm ready to pick a screen. I had originally set my mind on going with Wilson Art - but the issues about mounting it are worrisome for me. I'm not very good with right angles and my attempts at frame mock-ups have been ugly.

After reading about Sintra, that seems to be a solid choice. However, I'm not clear on where you can get it.

I'm also undecided on painting.

I own a chicago electric hvlp electric that i've use to spray water based stains with some success, so I see no reason why I couldn't use it for painting a screen.

I'll post some pics of the room later (can't find my camera at the moment), but it is approx. 10 1/4 ft wide x 21 1/2 ft long x 8ft high.

I'm debating between the Epson 8350, Mitsubishi HC4000. I'm targeting about 100 in. for the screen size.

The room is fairly well light controlled, but certainly not a black or very dark room.

I'm leaning toward the Sintra because of the "ready" state the product is in. Painting seems to just be something to make it better (it's already ready to use as is as I understand it).

Any thoughts on a solution for the screen?

Thanks,

~Whip

BTW - thanks to everyone who contributes to this forum. I've learned so much already that I would never have known without all the good information here.

·
DIY Granddad (w/help)
25,006 Posts

Quote:
Originally Posted by whipdancer /forum/post/20766426

I've been slowly putting together a media room and I'm ready to pick a screen. I had originally set my mind on going with Wilson Art - but the issues about mounting it are worrisome for me. I'm not very good with right angles and my attempts at frame mock-ups have been ugly.

After reading about Sintra, that seems to be a solid choice. However, I'm not clear on where you can get it.

Where do you live?

Quote: