AVS Forum banner
Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
3,755 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
It's time for me to move up from a 42" Mitz HDRPTV. I've had it for two years now and I've been trying to decide which way to go. The Mitz is in an amoire and I would have to cut it up to get a bigger display to fit and of course that won't work with the wife :) I really want that BIG theater experience and after reading all day on this forum and looking at my setup, I've decided that is the way to go. I'm a newbie to PJ so please bear with me, I'm a fast learner. Anyhow I have two couches facing the set now, which is where I would have to put a screen. The first couch has a viewing distance of 10', while the second has a viewing distance of 15'. Of course I have it raised to have stadium seating. A coffee table is in front of the first couch where a projector could be placed from 6'-7' feet from the screen, which I believe you call the "throw distance". How large of a picture would that get me? I really only watch DVD's and HD on my current set. Now on to the PJ questions. My budget can go up to $2500 or so. I've read about many of the budget PJ's from the Infocus 4805 to the Optoma H27 which give you alot of bang for the buck, but alas are not 1280x720. So how about a short list of 5 or so PJs, given my budget to look at? Thanks for your time with a newcomer to PJ. Blasst

·
Registered
4,040 Posts
Welcome to the forum. A good place to start to get an idea of what might and might not work in your setup is Projector Central it should help you decide on some projectors that are in your price range and can be work for your situation. After finding a few projectors there, come back here and we should be able to help you better narrow down your choices.

Good luck

·
Registered
6,402 Posts