AVS Forum banner
Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
2,036 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I've been timeshifting sports for many years and there's generally a serious issue being how to determine if a game is over. If you tune in and see if it's still on, there's a fairly good chance you will discover the outcome, thereby ruining your enjoyment. If it's a football game, or a basketball game you have a general idea how long it's apt to go and you can add on a factor in case of an overtime game. There can be multiple overtimes, so there's a risk factor. But baseball is anybody's guess. Some games are under 2.5 hours, others can approach 6 hours and theoretically, there's no limit.

I got this idea last night that somebody should put up a notice on their website that such and such game is over, it's now the time to stop your recording. ESPN could do something like that. Maybe they (or some other sports related site) has already done this, I don't know. Hell, it would even be theoretically possible to have a recording device be informed of the end of the contest! Whoa! Has Tivo done that? That would be a good selling factor.