AVS Forum banner
1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
135 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
So i have found a deal on a new sony 55 w950b for 999.99 on crutchfield. my company will pay 350.00 but i can only buy from crutchfield or sears. So today at 6 pm if i don't find a better deal im pulling the trigger. i wanted bigger but keeping it under a grand is hard to find good tv's... If any one finds a better tv for grand or less let me know. picture is the only part that matters i have sound taken care of and app's don't matter either.

·
Registered
308 Posts
I studied and compared the 60w850 and 65w950 extensively when I was shopping late last year. The 850 had better blacks IMO and looked just as good as the 950. The 950 also had these weird rainbow reflections on the screen, I could see them on the 55 and 65. They probably wouldn't be visible at home, but it was enough to sway me into a 60w850b.

·
Premium Member
18,322 Posts

·
Registered
135 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·
I got the 950b because it was in my price range and i really want to see what Q dot is about. Sony told me to call them back and they would give me a 4 year warranty for 20 bucks. I ordered it from crutchfield they sold it to me for 60 bucks less than sony could.

·
Registered
2,821 Posts
I got the 950b because it was in my price range and i really want to see what Q dot is about. Sony told me to call them back and they would give me a 4 year warranty for 20 bucks. I ordered it from crutchfield they sold it to me for 60 bucks less than sony could.
The W950B does not have the QD tech. The QD tech was only used in the X900A and the W900A.

·
Registered
135 Posts
Discussion Starter · #8 ·
what are they using to get the wider color's out of the lcd? Does any one know where i can find some web sites that talk about how they do

• Dynamic Edge LED with X-tended Dynamic Range for 2x brightness range1

• TRILUMINOS on this tv.