AVS Forum banner
Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
1,974 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Sorry for the repost, but I wanted to get as much feedback on these as possible. Admin, please feel free to nuke my response on this thread if you feel that the repost is unwarranted:
http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showt...01#post2132001

I am starting to wonder if perhaps the fact that I have been enjoying HDTV on a 36" direct view for the last 3-4 years is causing me NOT to have the same appreciation for the picture on my brand new HLN617W. Thus far I have not been happily surprised with ANY input source on ANY of the tv's inputs.

Here is a list of the things that I find as "issues" on my set:

1.) Color banding... also known as "clay faces". I've seen it on DVDs such as Spiderman and ATOC, Final Fantasy and others as well as HD programming on HDNET, NBC OTA and CBS OTA.

2.) Sparkles/Twinkles/Screen Effect issue. Sitting 14 feet back from this screen, I would've thought that screen door would be practically impossible to see. I don't have eagle eyes by any stretch of the imagination, but find this a little distracting. What is VERY distracting is the twinkling that is ocurring on brightly lit portions of the screen where the screen door is VERY evident and there seems to be some sort of rainbow pixel things happening. Almost prismatic as if they are reflecting light into the spaces between the pixels, i.e. the "screen door".

3.) Horrid normal DirecTV picture. We're talking VHS quality on the GOOD ones, at best. I much prefer the interlaced picture via S-video that I get on my 36" direct view with RCA DTC100 STB. FWIW, I am viewing the DirecTV via the Samsung TS-160 box over the DVI cable.

I won't mention the rainbow issues. This is something inherent in DLP displays and although I see them ocassionally, they don't distract me nearly as much as these three issues.