AVS Forum banner
Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 20 of 105 Posts

·
Registered
51 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have just started investigating top tier ampliers and would love to have everyone's opinion. I started this thread as to not hijack other existing threads.

Here is what is on the list so far: Lamm, Tenor, ARC, Halcro, Edge, Boulder.

Please feel free to add other amplifiers that you think bear comparing to this group. For instance, should Krell be included here?

I am new to tube amplifier technology and am thus leaning more towards hybrids, but am willing to be convinced otherwise.

I am a detail freak, but am very concerned about the perceived lack of musicality and sterility with the Halcros. I like tight bass, but am not a bass freak.

Thanks,

Damon

·
Banned
8,123 Posts
For solid state, Boulder is the winner with Halcro a close second. Like you however, I found Halcro to be just too sterile for my taste.

For tubes I think you picked the top 3 (Tenor, Lamm and ARC). Of the 3 IMO, ARC provides the best bass for a tube amp.

·
Registered
51 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
oneobgyn,

I have not heard the Halcros myself. I am just reiterating what has been voiced on this forum.

Do you think that the Krell and Levinson amps deserve to be included in this solid state group? Being a former owner of the big Krells, what do your ARCs do right that the Krells missed?

Also, do the Boulders keep the finger snapping musicality that the Halcros (may) lack?

Lastly, does ARC make a hybrid amp?

Damon

·
Banned
8,123 Posts
Indeed Krell and Levinson should be included in this group.

As for ARC vs Krell, IMO the tubes just sound so much more musical and that is what I have always strived to achieve.I also found the soundstage to be far better with the ARC than with the big Krell The Krells however had that gut renching visceral impact BUT the ARC Ref 600's do provide tremendous bass (as Tzucc can attest to).