AVS Forum banner
Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 8 of 8 Posts

· Registered
193 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi - couldn't find anything in the search so wanted to ask some experts.

I currently have a Toshiba SD-1200 DVD player that I purchased in 2000. I am thinking of upgrading it to a Panny S97 or perhaps a Sammy 941 with HDMI when I get a new TV, but was curious if the DVD player I own is progressive scan or not - or if it was 480i. I checked every site I could find and there was no mention of it. I am new to some of this stuff, is there an "easy" way to tell if this DVD player is PS? Here is a link to it on Amazon.com

http://www.amazon.com/exec/obidos/tg...12818?v=glance

Thank you much! This player has component output.

· Registered
3,828 Posts
I did a quick Google and couldn't find anywhere that had full specs or that said it IS progressive. I'm thinking, progressive players were still pretty new in 2000, it may well be that this model is not.

· Registered
193 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
Thanks Acura - you are always a help. I am "hoping" that it isn't because that will make a new player all the more impressive looking. hehehhe

· Registered
135 Posts
Wow, a Toshiba 1200 fan club in 2004! I think it's a great player and, at the time, represented great value. I yet to have any problems with it failing to read a DVD, including rentals (knock on wood).

To answer your question, it is NOT a progressive scan DVD player. However, it does have component video output, which puts it way ahead of my TV (S-cable will have to be good enough for now). That said, I get the impression you were going to get a new DVD player no matter what the answer was. ;)

· Registered
193 Posts
Discussion Starter · #7 ·