AVS Forum banner
1 - 8 of 8 Posts

· Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi, probably a quick answer but I am fairly new to this. I have two towers with 8 inch side firing subs and wanted to know the proper placement. Basically, should the subs fire in or out? Thank you for your help.

· Registered
1,051 Posts

Quote:
Originally Posted by DLOVE300 /forum/post/16855522

Hi, probably a quick answer but I am fairly new to this. I have two towers with 8 inch side firing subs and wanted to know the proper placement. Basically, should the subs fire in or out? Thank you for your help.

I believe they are designed to fire outwards, but honestly it does not matter much if at all.

The lower frequencies are mostly omni-directional. You should only need to worry about which way the face if you have nearby walls or other objects that will reflect the sound and increase how boomy the bass is.

· Registered
811 Posts
My first pair of HT speakers had side firing woofers and the manufacturer recommended trying facing them out to start. However, it's worth trying both orientations, especially if you cannot give at least 6" to 12" space to the woofer on one particular side.

· Registered
1,051 Posts

Quote:
Originally Posted by DLOVE300 /forum/post/16855573

Would it be best to fire them at a wall?

Generally you don't want to have them fire directly at a wall. This can often cause a subwoofer to sound too boomy and muddied. However, some people prefer that type of bass reproduction.

I would use the simple mantra of keeping your speakers at lest 2-3 feet from the wall on all sides. I would also have the subs firing out so you don't have to worry about it reflecting incorrectly off of your HT furniture.

· Registered
634 Posts

Quote:
Originally Posted by raistline /forum/post/16855666

I would use the simple mantra of keeping your speakers at lest 2-3 feet from the wall on all sides

+1, when possible and practical