Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello,

I am very new at this so I would like to apologise in advance if this question is in the wrong forum or elmentary for some of you. I am looking to purchase an new computer for everyday stuff that computers are used for. I would however, like to use a TV instead of a monitor for display... including the use of applications. I am wondering if this can be done and if, so, I would appreciate any suggestions eg processors, memory, video cards TV brands and models.. etc etc etc....

Once again, I would like to apologise if I am in the wrong forum.

Thanks for any suggestions..

·
Registered
25 Posts
I use a standard-definition TV with one of my computers that I use as an MP3 server. It works great for blowing up Winamp to the size of the screen, but that is about the only thing I would use it for. The resolution on standard-definition TV's is not very good and therefore not suitable for regular computer use. I've tried the Internet with it, but the fonts had to be so large...it was annoying.

I am using Win98 for that system, so there may be some better display/font settings in a newer version of windows.

The video card is the cheapest ATI with TV-out that I could find. I have been very pleased with it...it serves its purpose very well.

If you are getting an HD-ready TV, however, use as a monitor may be more practical. It still will not be as nice as a monitor from what I have heard, but much better than using composite/S-video to a standard-def TV.

BTW, if you plan on using a standard-def TV, make sure it has S-video inputs. It made a big difference for my application.

Good luck,

f4

·
Registered
17 Posts