AVS Forum banner
Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
399 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
At my location, I have stations coming from two different directions and can't seem to find a good compromise on antenna placement.

I am in an apartment facing a bit west of south and cannot roof-mount an antenna. I am limited to bolting a mast to my balcony railing and attaching the antenna to that.

According to AntennaWeb, the signals I want are SW and E/NE of where I am.

I have a Channel Master 4 bay bowtie antenna and a Radio Shack small directional YAGI UHF antenna.

What I had in mind was to use both of these and connect them with a piece of 300 ohm twinlead before using the balun to send the signal down the coax.

The 4 bay antenna can only be aimed south and slightly east and west of that because it bumps into the building. I would say I have about 15 degrees in either direction.

The YAGI has a wider range of positions. I could go about 30 degrees in either direction.

What do you think of this idea? I am in Columbia, MD and facing towards DC. If I aim for DC, I can't get any Baltimore stations and if I aim towards Baltimore (or as far as I can in that direction) I can get most of the Balto stations to lock but have problems with most of the DC stations.

·
Registered
801 Posts
Sorry to say, but it probably won't work at all.

There are many posts in this forum on this subject, try searching on something like "joining antennas" or some derivative of that.

Your best bet would be to buy an A/B switch from Radio Shack to select between the two antennas unless your set top box has separate antenna inputs.