AVS Forum banner
1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
35 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Recognizing I'm a newb on here shoplifting advicethe problem is I have visited three different Magnolias and two local places and know more than they do after reading AVS for about two hours.and I still don't know sht.

Question: 5.1 or 5.2?

Room dimensions are horrible. 15x25x9 = about 3,400 cubic feet. Problem is I have to use inwall for the fronts and inceiling for the rears. The room opens on the right of the plasma and on the left into two other rooms, and due to the rear wall being open on the back right, I can't properly place rears. Viewing area is proper, about 10 feet from front, but 15 feet of empty space on the left, right and back isn't making life any easier. But that's neither here nor there.

My question is should I use two smaller subs in the front corner and back corner or one big boy sub in BACK corner of room (two big boy subs not an option, neither is big boy sub at front corner of room)?

I would say intended use is about 50% sports watching, 25% movies, 25% pure music.

Say I go Triad:

Could do the Platinum DSP sub (18 inch woofer) w/ dimensions 22x25x20 in the BACK of the room, or could do two Mini Omni Subs (8 inch woofer) w/ dimensions 12x13x12

Say I go Def Tech:

Could do SuperCube Ref (14 inch woofer) w/ dimensions 17x17x17 in back of room, or two SuperCube II w/ 12 inch woofer w/ 12x12x12 dimensions.

Could also go Paradigm subs 1 vs 2.

I'm not locked into one of those three brands, but the inwalls will come from one of those brands and I don't know anything about matching subs w/ different ohms and all thator if that even matters.

So looking for advice on 2 subs or 1? I know that I'm trading lower bass for better dispersion, but which should be more important?

Or should I do a big boy in back and a small guy in front? Or is that just stupid?

Thanks

·
Registered
1,735 Posts