AVS Forum banner

1 - 20 of 277 Posts

·
Registered
1,394 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
So I just added a second sub (Dual Outlaw LFM-1 EX). This is my first time with dual subs. I have been doing some reading and searching on the concept of level matching vs gain matching. Both really seem to have strong points. I think I like the concept of gain matching better, as to not have one sub run out of steam before the other.

Here is my situation. My room is sealed and pretty small. All of my seating is in the back half of the room (as is most people). Last night I gain matched each sub, and the sub in the room is 3.5 dB louder at the listening position than the one in the front of the room. I didn't have the proper splitter, so that is as far as I got. I am going to spend a ton of time this weekend trying all kinds of positions and measuring and listening.

Is 3.5 dB difference at the listening position too much of a disparity to effectively gain match? Would it be better, if I am going to gain match to put both subs in the front of the room to get a closer match at the listening position between the two subs? In my situation, might it be better to level match each sub at the listening position, since the room is so small, and I "think" I wouldn't push either sub into clipping anyway?

Thanks!

Greg

·
Registered
165 Posts
I have never gain matched my sub's, but I dont think 3.5 db is anything to worry about. Someone who knows more may chime in. I only level match my subs and If one poops out sooner I just turn it down a notch

·
Registered
1,706 Posts
Greg, as Haskin has said, I don't think the 3.5db is that noticeable. Personally, I am a fan of level matching identical dual subs, especially if you are using a calibration tool (such as Audyssey, Anti-mode) and have one LFE out signal Y-split to each sub. If you find that one sub is reaching its max with level matching, I would than use gain matching.