AVS Forum banner
Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
53 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi I'm a newbie here, I had the Ultimate TV for 2 years now and thinking of adding a High Definition receiver. Will I lose the Ultimate TV receiver if I hook one of these HD receivers or can I hook both of them on one TV set?

Any feedbacks or inputs is deeply appreciated.

Max

·
Registered
592 Posts
Some related questions (HD) from me. I have a round 18" dish with dual LNB going into a 3x4 multiswitch. Two of those outputs feed another 3x4 multiswitch and two UTV's. The other two outputs feed the bedroom UTV. I'm considering a move to DirecTV-HD. I know I have to replace the dish in order to get DirecTV-HD. I also have to add the DirecTV-HD Receiver. Questions:

a) I understand the triple LNB dish has an integrated multiswitch with 4 outputs. Are all those outputs the same (carry the same info) ... or is one (or more) output different -- used only for HD?

b) How much of my exisiting multiswitch and cabling can I keep? I think I have to replace that first multiswitch with one that "passes" the signal for the HD and satellite switching ... is that right?

c) Will I have remote control conflicts with the DirecTV-HD Receiver if I keep the UTV's in the room too (one is set to normal, the other to AUX)?

Thanks for any advise?

·
Registered
9 Posts
I can only answer the part about the signal coming out of the triple LNB dish they are all the same, the reasson for the triple LNB is to be able to dial in to the HD pograming. I have one bu no HD reciever yet.

·
Registered
17,674 Posts
Quote:
Originally posted by maxshepard
Hi I'm a newbie here, I had the Ultimate TV for 2 years now and thinking of adding a High Definition receiver. Will I lose the Ultimate TV receiver if I hook one of these HD receivers or can I hook both of them on one TV set?

Any feedbacks or inputs is deeply appreciated.

Max
I depends on how many inputs you have on your TV.

·