AVS Forum banner
Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 20 of 31 Posts

·
Registered
3,801 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
In this thread , Mark Seaton offered to get into some serious talk about how how to create good bass in a room if somebody would start a new thread. So, here ya go big guy.:)

Let's start a good free-for-all about how to get the ultimate bass. Anything goes.... room size, room shape, sub type, sub placement, seating position, acoustic treatments, equalization, measurement techniques, whatever.

Myself, I'm interested in the optimum placement of multiple subs. The experts don't all agree. Some say to put them all in a corner and some say to spread them out at, for example, the 1/4 and 1/2 points along the walls.

·
Registered
144 Posts
Hi Catapult,

I am no expert in audio, however I will take a stab at this soley based upon personal experience without the technical education that some posess in this forum.

Previous Setup

I have battled with this sub issue for about a year now. I have 2 15" powered subs. My room dimensions are 13.5' x 26.5'. I know, not exactly ideal for acoustics. I tried the 2/3 theory, one at 1/3 and the other at 2/3 on opposing walls. For myself, I felt the subeffect was very cancelled. I experimented with turning the subs firing direction in all 4 ways. I was still unsatisfied with the results.

Current Setup

After a lot of experimentation here is where I ended up. I have one sub front firing located below my screen beside my center channel speaker along the 13.5' wall. The other sub is still at the 2/3 dimension just behind the last row of seating firing across the room.

Conclusion: