AVS Forum banner

1 - 20 of 52 Posts

·
Registered
44 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Hey all,

In my research for my next HT sub build I started playing around with the Dayton Ultimax 18 in WinISD.

I found that a dual 18 cab tuned to 14.5Hz would be an enormous box (1100 Liters/38.8 cft) but the graph looked crazy impressive.

All of this is based on WinISD so please be gentle if I have done something wrong......
At full 2K power:
122db from 14.5Hz all the way up past 100Hz
3db down - 12.65Hz
10db down - 10.73Hz

24.25 M/s peak at 13.26HZ

Aside from the cab being huge (which is not an issue as we are building the HT with the new home so I have the ability to design the room anyway I want) is there a downside to using these Subs? I have had great luck in the past with Dayton drivers but I have also always gone on the inexpensive DIY side.
My plan is to build 2 separate cabinets with 2 18's in each. These would go in between my L/C/R behind the screen. and then build 2 more with single 18's for the back corners. (The ones in the back would be a powered cab and a slave unit)

Each set of 2 will prob be powered by a Speakerpower SP1-6000 plate amp.

As a side note, someone mentioned doing a SBA since we are building from scratch but I am not sure I want to go that route but options are still open.

Anyway once again I appreciate your time.

Jason

·
Premium Member
5,083 Posts
If SBA is a real option,
you'll def want to look into the superlative work and resources here

Reactions: Mashie Saldana

·
Registered
5,606 Posts
For a similar price be sure to look at the BMD Alpha II:

I would take two of these with NSW’s over 2 dual UMs. The UMs will not have the same impact in the midbass region. You can close one port for a 16Hz tune instead of the 19Hz tune if desired. A clone amp (FP20000q) would save you enough money to build 4. :D

·
Registered
44 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
If SBA is a real option,
Yeah that was the thread I was pointed to before.