AVS Forum banner

1 - 20 of 37 Posts

·
Registered
17 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Hello all, great forum, full of good info. I am new to HT DIY subs, looking to build a new set (qty 2) of HT subwoofers. I have read alot of posts here about the different options. I think I am leaning toward 18” woofers. I have read about the VBSS, Marty(s), Johnny, Cyclops etc.

My biggest constraint is size...I would like to stick with something about 20” W x 22” D x 22” T, something close to this anyhow. I would like to be able to get solid output down to 20Hz, if possible, but I understand that my cab req’s may (will) limit my results.

My room is essentially 20’ x 20’ x 8’, fireplace closes off one corner a bit.

I have been honing in on (Qty 2) UM18-22 sealed (4ft3) units; however am wondering if an NX3000D would have an easier time powering these 2 UM18s (at lower Hz) if I built a Micro Marty for each. I have read that a 6000D is really better for two UM18s, but I think I may be willing to lose 3dB to keep the budgeted 3000D amp.

Would a vented enclosure offer much benefit, easier to drive, at this small cabinet size? I haven’t been able to locate many UM18 Micro builds.

Anyone powered two sealed (4ft3 ea.) UM18s of a single 3000D?

I would expect that the 3000Ds output rating of 900W/channel @ 4ohm is likely closer to 500w/channel @ 4ohm in the real world. But, from my limited knowledge, that’s only 3dB down from giving it the full 1000w RMS.

Should have mentioned...currently I have a single 12” Monolith, that I’m very happy with, just want a bit more output, especially near 20Hz and slightly under. These will REPLACE the monolith.

·
Registered
17 Posts
Discussion Starter #2
Well, I have now realized why I haven’t located UM18 Micro builds, the Micro is for the 390HO 15”... o_O

So I suppose the Cube is my smallest vented option for the UM18.

·
Registered
17 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
No doubt I would prefer full Marty! :)