AVS Forum banner

1 - 20 of 86 Posts

·
Registered
122 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
So i settled on a UM18 for my HT with the Inuke6000DSP

I've started my box design and i'm getting different vent lengths from every design software/calculator i've tried. I downloaded WiniSD and it wont let me input the parameters for this sub i get an error msg for nearly all the driver inputs (yes i ensures the units were correct).

If i pick another randon 18 from the driver list i get yet another vent length value.

I'm planning on doing a 8-9 CU/FT box tuned to 19 hz only because thats what the spec sheet says. it will play mostly movies and TV some music.

my room is huge. Its a wide open basement. 6600 CU/FT

some help would be awesome. or should i just go with the port dims on the spec sheet and be done with it.

·
Registered
1,169 Posts
Is this the UM 18-22 ? Are you going to use a round or slot port. I am no expert with this but i get 10 inch round port 27 inches long.

·
Registered
122 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
its the UM18-22.

i think i'm going to copy the specs from the marty cube and change the shape.

·
Registered
1,169 Posts
I am using BassBox for the design and importing the parameters from the database so i am confident with the numbers i gave. 10.5 cubic foot box. What are the specs for the marty

·
Registered
97 Posts
its the UM18-22.

i think i'm going to copy the specs from the marty cube and change the shape.
was going to say, check out the marty variety.
someone in that thread may even model something for you.

·
Registered
6,375 Posts
I downloaded WiniSD and it wont let me input the parameters for this sub i get an error msg for nearly all the driver inputs (yes i ensures the units were correct).
Try downloading and using this WinISD File.

And as to why you are getting different port lenghts when you look at other 18" drivers, its because the T/S parameters are different, resulting in different port lenghts to get the same tune.