AVS Forum banner
Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
137 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi there, my JVC HM-HDS1U unit is not a Showstopper nor a Replay TV unit, but I couldn't find a specific forum for it. Anyway, I guess the Hard Disk recording part of this machine works pretty much like any other PVR, just without the service + subscription, so maybe some of you can help me.

A few weeks ago, the hard disk started to become more and more noisy. A high pitch whine that many other users have described in other forums.

I wonder if I can replace the hard disk myself, without sending the unit to repair (it could take months here!), but i'm really not an expert.

In your experience, what kind of hard disk these kinds of PVR have?

Are things as easy as removing the hard disk and replacing it? Or is it trickier than that (is the software that runs the unit stored on the hard disk? In that case, what happens if you replace it?).

Thanks for your replies.

Luca

·
Registered
4,612 Posts
Replay and TIVO both use run of the mill IDE hard drives with gig size varying greatly. The operating system is on the hard drive and would need to be duplicated over to the replacement drive. Once duplicated the new drive will bootup exactly as the old one did.

One way you can approach this problem is to unplug the machine and remove the hard drive. You can research the drives size I.E how many gigs at the disk manufacturers web sight and purchase a new drive with the same capacity.

Go to http://rtvpatch.sourceforge.net/linu...e_upgrade.html and read up on this only to the point of knowing how to use the linux boot disk and some commands.

Using the linux bootup disk which is available from http://prdownloads.sourceforge.net/r...2002-01-23.zip you can duplicate the contents of the old drive onto the new one.