AVS Forum banner
Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
936 Posts
I'm no expert, but their can't be and isn't more detail, and in most cases an upconverted picture is worse than the regular picture via an S-video connection. Many use the 1080i out for HD only and watch regular TV via the S-Video. Upconverted is watchable, just isn't great looking.

------------------

-h pierce

Surely you can't be serious... I am serious and don't call me Shirley.

·
Registered
1,033 Posts
I disagree with the assessment that upscaled pictures look worse when using a high quality scaler. Part of the reason upscaled pictures look better has to do with the scan lines. 480p scan lines are visible on my RPTV from 8 feet, once you know what to look for. Instead of upscaling to 480p, I usually watch 480i upscaled to 960i or 1080i for 16:9 or 1200i for 4:3. This creates a more smooth realistic appearance, making my eyes perceive faces especially as almost real.

Another reason upscaling looks better is, I speculate, because the upscaling interpolates, making the image less blocky, making it easier for your optic nerves to make sense of the image.

The bottom line is that I don't really know either, but I do know that DVD's upscaled to 1440x960i or 1800x1200i look much better than at 720x480p on my system.

------------------

Abdul
Philips 60PP9601, join the Philips_HDTV discussion group

Dish 5000 + HDTV Modulator, DirecTV + 128 hour SVR-2000 TiVo

HTPC: Duron 750, K7 Master, Radeon LE, AccessDTV, Cybermail, Audiophile

Kenwood VR-407 receiver & subwoofer, nOrh 4.0 marble center speaker
s>

·
Registered
2,519 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·