AVS Forum banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I've been back and forth on what to do with my very outdated Crestron system that was in the home when I bought it 10 years ago. I primarily use it for audio (FM radio) but just recently incorporated a Sonos Port to provide music streaming using the iDoc source. I'm wondering if my system can be upated to Creston Home OS3 or should I start from scratch with a different whole home audio distribution system that I can control audio and maybe some lighting with an app or newer touch panels?

Main current components:
PRO2 Control processor
CNX-PAD8A (2) Distribution processors
CNAMPX-16X60 (2) Amplifiers
7 Touch panels
5 keypads

Can my existing programming be extracted or downloaded from the PRO2 if I wanted to change Crestron programmer?

I appreciate any advice.

·
Registered
64 Posts
I’m a Control4 programmer, not a Crestron guy, but from what I understand, in the Crestron world the programming is proprietary to the person doing it. That’s one of the compelling features of Control4... the customer owns the programming and can switch dealers at any time.

How many zones of audio? Control4 really shines with “whole home automation” - bringing in much more than A/V and lighting. It does those really well, but it’s a whole new level when the garage door opening turns on the lights and music in the kitchen.

Shoot me a PM if you’d like to discuss specifics for your house. :)

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

·
Registered
2,545 Posts
You should also decide if you want to do any of the installation / programming yourself. If so, stay away from Crestron and very likely Control4 and Savant as well. Requires a dealer to at least add new devices to the system. There are several highly capable systems that do more than Control4 that support DIY.

·
Registered
533 Posts