AVS Forum banner
1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
42 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi, I'm a noob when it comes to this stuff. I was always a computer geek and so spent most of my hobby money building PC's and buying various PC related stuff, monitors etc. Now that I am older, have more cash and PC's are so cheap I am starting to pay attention to audio/video and want to upgrade my fairly pedestrian gear and wanted to ask the forums advice on what the best upgrade path would be for my situation.

So here's what I currently have.

The room is 20Lx16wx13h opening on one end to a open hallway/dining room and on the other to a kitchen. The television is on a 12 foot wall on the 20 foot length open side.

Current gear is.

TV- 51" Samsung D550 Plasma

BD- Samsung BD-P1600

Audio

Pioneer Elite VSX-56TXi

Speakers

A twenty year old set of Paradigm's, 2 big, 2 medium, 2 bookshelf, center and a sub, the sub is a PDR-10, I think the speakers are the SE series, black wood, at least they look the photo's found here

I also have four ceiling speakers in the room I can access.

I just ordered a new sub because I know that's going to be a must, I went with the HSU VTF2-MKIII

Rears are going to be a problem wiring wise, the basement undereath the room is finished, so I don't know if I should go with wireless rears, rocketfish or something like that, or upgrade the rear ceiling speakers and use those.

Oh and what a disappointment that Pioneer Elite is, bought it right before HDMI came out and I definitely want to have SA-CD capability. I am hoping to upgrade in discrete little five and six hundred dollar chunks, maybe get a new center next, then upgrade the ceiling speakers etc.