AVS Forum banner
1 - 3 of 3 Posts

·
Registered
83 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello,

I have an old Bose Accoustimas system (from 1998) with a Sony Receiver. I would like to upgrade my system to something new. I am not sure where I should be going (I like good audio/video but i am not a super expert).

My TV is fine, so what I need is a new receiver, and speakers. I have an Xbox-360, Sony PS3, and comcast cable box so will need 3 hdmi inputs. My TV is a Toshiba Regza LCD.

I was looking at the Bose LifeStyle V30 and the Sony bdv-IT 1000ES.

Any good recommendations? Obviously I would like to spend less, but I want something that will give me good sound and last a while (my old system is 12 years old and still works).

EDIT: I also like form factor as a small profile is great

THank you

·
Registered
573 Posts

Quote:
Originally Posted by furby076 /forum/post/18223549

Hello,

I have an old Bose Accoustimas system (from 1998) with a Sony Receiver. I would like to upgrade my system to something new. I am not sure where I should be going (I like good audio/video but i am not a super expert).

My TV is fine, so what I need is a new receiver, and speakers. I have an Xbox-360, Sony PS3, and comcast cable box so will need 3 hdmi inputs. My TV is a Toshiba Regza LCD.

I was looking at the Bose LifeStyle V30 and the Sony bdv-IT 1000ES.

Any good recommendations? Obviously I would like to spend less, but I want something that will give me good sound and last a while (my old system is 12 years old and still works).

EDIT: I also like form factor as a small profile is great

THank you

Mentioning the word Bose on this site will get you stoned (unless its a negative remark). Bose is perceived as extremely over priced for what you get.

Your best bet is to go to a store and listen to a few different set ups. Based on what you want, it sounds like a home theater in a box is what you need, and there is a section dedicated to that.

·
Registered
83 Posts